1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

H22 swap in EG Running too rich!! Help!!!

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by somedude, Sep 19, 2005.

  1. somedude

    somedude Junior Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Hi everyone...

    My car is running way too rich!! The spark plugs are pitch black and i'm only getting about 90 miles for FULL tank of gas!!! It is an eg coupe with a JDM H22 in it. EVerything is pretty much stock except for intake and catback. There is no cat converter on it. The only CEL is 13 which is egr. The car runs fine except for a rough idle and smelling of gas. Does not bog too much. ANyone with any tips or pointers will be helpful. Thanks and hope you guys can help me out.
     
  2. VTECin5th

    VTECin5th Administrator

    Messages:
    2,182
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Location:
    Phoenix Az
    Holy hell man.
    I think your timing is off, and your vacuum lines are mixed up.
    I'm guessing the EGR code doesn't help.
    Welcome to HondaSwap.
     
  3. somedude

    somedude Junior Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005




    Is there a link to how the vaccuum lines should go to??? Thanks
     
  4. VTECin5th

    VTECin5th Administrator

    Messages:
    2,182
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Location:
    Phoenix Az
    not that i could ever find when i needed it.
    Maybe someone knows of one?...
    Try going to a Honda Dealer, and or finding another h22 and match em up :)
     
  5. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    gimmie about 20 minutes to find it in my chiltons...its not that great, but its better than nothing.

    Oh, and did you use a downpipe for a prelude VTEC, or did you use a normal prelude S/Si?
     
  6. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
  7. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,056
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    the first thing i would advise is to fix the CEL...

    CEL = safe mode = timing retard and massive amounts of fuel...
     
  8. somedude

    somedude Junior Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Thanks for the info...

    But yeah...I've been checking my car and I tried checking the spark plug wires....i notice that when I took out wires 1 and 4, it didnt make a difference to the engine while running?? [​IMG] I was told to replace my distributer cap and rotor due to this might be the reason why my timing is jumping all over the place. What do you guys think??
     
  9. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    definite possibility...replace the cap and rotor.

    Oh, if you switched to the internal coil dizzy, get the cap and rotor for a 97 Accord VTEC...i spent forever looking for the right one at oreillys
     
  10. somedude

    somedude Junior Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005

    yeah, i have the internal dizzy...so you're saying that I should use the 97 Accord V-TEC's cap and rotor then??? Pretty positive about this? Thanks
     
  11. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Yeah, an hour at oreillys...ya dont forget stuff like that
     
  12. somedude

    somedude Junior Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005

    Thanks....got it....

    The bad thing is i think my rings are shot....pistons 1 and 4 are losing compression..so that means, i'll have to prob work on the block...sucks...thanks alot though..i'll update you guys on if i can get this thing to run right or not.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page