H22 swap into 2.2CL/automatic

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

CL 97

I'm a newbie to the site & had some questions regarding an H22 swap into a 1997 Acura 2.2 CL with an automatic tranny. I tried to search the site, but the search engine kept giving me errors because I had a word (CL) that was less than 4 letters. No matter how I spell it, I can't seem to make (CL) into four letters.

I just bought a '97 2.2 CL, but can't stand the automatic tranny. I kind of knew I wouldn't like it, but the price was right & the car is sweet, so I bought it. I thought of pulling the complete F22 non-vTEC/ 5 spd out of my Accord & swapping it into the CL, but I understand there are issues with the OBDI/OBDII systems & I want to sell the Accord as a complete running (albeit - wrecked) driveable car.

All that aside, I think I want to swap in an H22/5Spd into the CL. I've got a few questions regarding this swap:

1. Do I need to get an OBDII motor to do this swap correctly? If I understand correctly, I would have to use my original harness from my F22 to make the swap easier. If I am using my original harness, could I move it to an OBDI motor without any major hurdles? What about the ECM?

2. I understand that I need to modify the mounts in this car, since it is an automatic. Will I just purchase Prelude mounts from Honda? Is there some major fabbing to make them work?

3. Will the pedals & all associated clutch lines work from a Prelude in the CL? The CL is basically a '94-'97 style Accord with different cosmetics & some upscale features. Is the Prelude the same firewall/floorpan as an Accord?