1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

H23+H22 Vtec Head

Discussion in 'Prelude' started by Wun_Lunatik24, Dec 30, 2006.

  1. Wun_Lunatik24

    Wun_Lunatik24 New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    I have a H23...My head is burning oil and I have to decide whether I want to rebuild that head or what I was thinking was...buying a H22 Vtec head to replce that...But, i don't know if it would just fit right on or what kind of mods would I have to do to it?...And will any H22 Vtec head fit like from the newer year models?
     
  2. powerdriverh22

    powerdriverh22 Senior Member

    Messages:
    825
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Location:
    spfld, mo
    pretty sure any h22 head will drop right on there
     
  3. PreludeNOOB

    PreludeNOOB New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Location:
    Boston, MASS
    Frankenstein

    Supposedly from what i hear is that it fits right on and it's called the FRANKENSTEIN... but thas just wat i heard.. and i think someone told me something about drilling a whole somewhere for like extra oil or something.. but im not sure ask around im sure someone will know... :-D
     
  4. 801CRX

    801CRX Got Rice?

    Messages:
    1,347
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    UTAH
    Well I know for sure it will bolt right up and that it is called the FRANKENSTIEN. But I do believe you will run into a problem with the oil ports (not an easy fix youll have to get it mchined). And if you do manage to get it running (trust me you can there are people running this setup). You'll have to wire up a RPM activated switch to activate the vtec.
     
  5. PreludeNOOB

    PreludeNOOB New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Location:
    Boston, MASS
    ha ha ha... see i knew there was supposed to be an extra hole somewhere for oil....LOL well i guess they got there answer... thanx on the info 8o1crx.... i plan to prolly do this in the future with my lude... considering i got like 3 h23's in my garage and 2 h22's on the way... :-D
     
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2007
  6. stlpsycho138

    stlpsycho138 Junior

    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2006
    Location:
    The LOU!
    actually, there's no machining.... all you have to do is remove one little plug in the block to get the vtec oil. other than that, it's pretty straight. just have to get it all put together and tuned and you're ready to roll. here's a link to a guy who was one of the first to do it, and it has a parts list and all on it.

    Welcome to www.Hondaplex.com Houston, Texas U.S.A.
     
  7. PreludeNOOB

    PreludeNOOB New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Location:
    Boston, MASS
    nice.... one more thing... if anyone knows... now im not much of a uner or dont really know much about engines.. but when you take the vtec and the h23 block is it pretty much just bolt on and its ready to be tossed in.... after you unpleg hole and all that.. the head or block they have to be prepared or anything like special has to be done....
     
  8. 801CRX

    801CRX Got Rice?

    Messages:
    1,347
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    UTAH
    I dont think theres much of anything else to worry bout.

    I knew it was something with the oil ports. Its just like a mini-me you have to remove the oil jet not a "plug" from the block with a small screw driver or there wont be enough oil pressure to activate the vtec. Because the H23 head already has the jet built in.

    But like I said you have to wire up a RPM sensitive switch to activate the vtec.
    Or just get a vtec controller.

    And from there I think its pretty straight forward.

    This swap is said to make anywhere from 200-240HP not sure though.
     
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2007
  9. PreludeNOOB

    PreludeNOOB New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Location:
    Boston, MASS
    whoa... wait, wat do you mean 200- 240 hp more... or do you mean jump up to 240 from 200??
     
  10. stlpsycho138

    stlpsycho138 Junior

    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2006
    Location:
    The LOU!
    as far as i've read, it'll make about 180-200 horsepower, not much more though. there is no other prepping that needs to be done. just install all of the parts needed, fix the oil thing, and get it tuned. that's all. it's not too hard, just really expensive unless you have a h23 and all the parts you need already.
     
  11. 801CRX

    801CRX Got Rice?

    Messages:
    1,347
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    UTAH
    Did you guys not read the "not sure though" part of it. Thats what ive read, its not like i built one and dyno'd it.
    Fuck read the wole thing before you post.
     
  12. stlpsycho138

    stlpsycho138 Junior

    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2006
    Location:
    The LOU!
    sorry dude, not trying to cause problems... just correcting. i am in the process of finishing mine at the moment, and those are the figures i've found so far. after i get mine finished and dynoed, i'll let you guys know for sure.
     
  13. 801CRX

    801CRX Got Rice?

    Messages:
    1,347
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    UTAH
    It's all fun and games man.LOL
    Hell yeah hit me up with the dyno results.
    1 thing I learned quick on this site is you cant take anyone serious. Especially when they start pounding your ass for all kinds of shit.
     
  14. stlpsycho138

    stlpsycho138 Junior

    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2006
    Location:
    The LOU!
    it's cool man, i was just a little taken back by that.... it was very unexpected. hell yah, i'll get htem too you as soon as i get time, and money to get it there and done.
     
  15. 801CRX

    801CRX Got Rice?

    Messages:
    1,347
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    UTAH
    Oh fo sho.
    Good luck with it.
     
  16. Dr_love

    Dr_love New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2007
    Location:
    Repen
    if the h23 cylinders are bigger than the h22 and you put a h22 head on it it should make more hp than the h22 no???
     
  17. Jaila

    Jaila New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    I don't know for sure, but I've done some research since I will be doing this soon myself.

    The H23 has about 160-170hp stock.
    The H22 Vtec has about 200hp stock.
    The H23 has a longer stroke, but the cylinders are the same as the H22 which is why you can bolt on the H22 head.
    The H22 has a higher compression ratio because of the pistons, and the combustion chamber.
    If you put the H22 pistons in the H23 with the H22 head you should get a higher compression than either, and more HP, but you will have to run high test.
    The theoretical figures I got off another website were somewhere around 11:1 compression ratio.

    In addition, you will need a computer that will engage the Vtec.
    You can get one from a junkyard, or online.
    I bought an AEM Plug & Play computer for my H23, but when I swap the H22 Vtec in next week I can still use it because it has a built in Vtec controller.
    You can also use it to controll boost, and just about anything else you can think of adding.

    More engine parts needed:
    All the sprockets that mesh with the cogs on the timing belt.
    The H22 timing belt is different.
    H22 timing belt.
    Might as well replace the tensioner, and water pump while you're at it.
    Intake header
    Exhaust header
    H22 head gasket/set

    The oil plug in the H23 block can indeed be removed easily. A small screwdriver will work, but it is threaded on the top, and one of the bolts you take off the motor while disasembling it will work as well.

    One person suggested that there was some kind of "oil slinger" in the H22 block which they recommended switching over as well, but didn't think it was mandatory.

    Thats pretty much all I can think of. If anyone can disprove any of this, or has confirmation, please let me know. Like I said... I'm not sure... Just going off what I've read in other blogs.
     
  18. 6spd_dc2

    6spd_dc2 New Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    about the tensioner, it have to be the manual tensioner
     
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2007
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page