1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

hacking into a laptop

Discussion in 'Members' Lounge' started by haccord141, Nov 29, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. haccord141

    haccord141 Senior Member

    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Location:
    So Cali
    At work one of my many bosses gave me a laptop computer so i could hack into it and try and get info they need. They thing is i have no idea what to do.

    the os is windows 2000 professional

    does anyone know how to hack into one with physicaly fucking the comp. up?

    thanks in advance for any help!!!!

    peace
    Jeff
     
  2. La_Pieuvre

    La_Pieuvre Senior Member

    Messages:
    778
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    If you're asking the question I doubt you have the knowledge or understanding of how to go about it.
    But if you're trying to bypass the startup password prompt, you can do so by having a win2k install cd. Boot from the CD and you should be able to go around the password or at leats change it. Not sure whether it'll work, but that's what I would try.
     
  3. haccord141

    haccord141 Senior Member

    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Location:
    So Cali

    i don't have the windows2k cd?

    I am open to anything, if anyone knows a little bit, tell me about it and i will try or does anyone know a website or websites to check to do this?
     
  4. La_Pieuvre

    La_Pieuvre Senior Member

    Messages:
    778
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas, TX

    Well there's not much you can do then...NT kernels are designed not to be broken into easily. I doubt you'll be able to do it. As far as websites, google it up and you'll find a few.
    Good Luck
     
  5. 97hatch

    97hatch ?

    Messages:
    1,695
    Likes Received:
    20
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Location:
    Anderson IN
    you could take the hd ot and slave it in to another computer then you should be able to get just about any thing you want off the disk. But you will have to have a special adapter to put a laptop hd in a desktop. but this angle should be very efective
     
  6. Circuit

    Circuit Member

    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Location:
    MA, USA
    how much information needs to be taken off? If it's just a couple of mbs you can export it onto a floppy... I sugguest you first get a windows 98 cd and use it to boot into DOS. After you get into dos, find the files they need and just copy it over to a floppy... it's not rocket science.... :D
     
  7. cointelpro

    cointelpro Senior Member

    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    i know on desktop computers if you open up the case there are a couple connectors you can remove and then replace in order to erase the startup password. but i dont know where they would be if anywhere on a laptop. i would fuck with it concidering it must not be yours or your bosses computer.
     
  8. CRX-YEM

    CRX-YEM Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    4,623
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Wallingford, CT

    even booting off the windows install CD will require the password for the admin account.

    97hatch
    has the best idea, you'll need to get an adapter for the laptop hard drive to run it in a desktop system, and this system must also be running windows 2000

    don't bother with a win98 boot disk or CD because win98 uses a FAT partition table and won't be able to read the win2k's NTFS file system.

    other than that all you can do is use brute force to crack the pass word.
    there are some utilities out there that will recover the admin account password, but you need to be able to log into the admin account or at least get the OS booted into a users account.
     
  9. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    ok, before we can offer you advice on how to get "in"

    where are you getting stopped?
     
  10. haccord141

    haccord141 Senior Member

    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Location:
    So Cali

    i turn the laptop on, and it boots up to the " Log On to Windows " screen.

    There is no admin account, I had IT come over and look at it.

    User name: david
    Password: (a blinking curser(sp?))
     
  11. CRX-YEM

    CRX-YEM Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    4,623
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Wallingford, CT
    All windows NT kernel based OS's have an admin account.
     
  12. NoJokE

    NoJokE Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003

    What utilities would these be?

    I have a laptop that i bought 4 months ago and i got in and changed the password, and i cant remember the fucking password. I can get in thru another user's account, but its a limited one.
     
  13. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    ok, for the orig. question--

    basically what you need to do is to hack the SAM, or secuirty accounts manager.

    do not attempt this if you aren't sure what I'm saying... it could render shit useles.

    in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SAM, there are keys and values, which are in turn stored in %systemroot%\system32\config

    if you are fat32, boot your MAIN working computer into dos mode via a win 98 floppy...
    if you are ntfs, you're going to have to get to the dos prompt the best way you knwo how (i'm not sure what o/s you are on)

    once at a c: prompt enter a blank pre-formatted floppy into A:
    enter:
    copy c:\windows\system32\config\sam a:

    if it gives you an error, that means its hidden

    you need to set attrib -h

    then run the copy.

    now, time to hack into the laptop.

    get to a dos prompt the same way.

    basically, what you are going to do is rename the current sam (DO NOT DELETE IT!!!!! (ren SAM SAM_old)
    then, copy the A: sam to c:\..\..\sam

    reboot normally

    login with your normal machines user/pass

    you are in.
     
  14. jeffie7

    jeffie7 Wrong Whole! VIP

    Messages:
    12,931
    Likes Received:
    735
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Maryland
    B hit the nail right on the head... yup do as he said
     
  15. spectacle

    spectacle Senior Member

    Messages:
    898
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2003
    Location:
    St. Petersburg, Fl

    also if it is a Win2000 machine, the directory will be c:\winnt\system32\config\sam
     
  16. totalburnout

    totalburnout Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    7,068
    Likes Received:
    126
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2002
    Location:
    NJ
    :blink:

    I knowo my fair share about computer hardware but never got into the hacking side of things. ...that was pretty amazing B.
     
  17. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    that's not hacking... hell, that was on my A+ exam :)
     
  18. ScrapinSi

    ScrapinSi Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,292
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2003

    unless its built on NTFS... :)

    And as far as the a+ exam goes, I took that with a hangover at age 18, using the study manual as a doorstop, and I missed 2 questions on the hardware... Damn 8 pin dot matrix printers.. I couldn't remember how to rebuild the heads... :lol:
     
  19. micah

    micah Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,513
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Location:
    panama city beach, florida
    if its a bioos password just unplug your power supply, or on old comps even a fan, and replug it in.
    by breaking the circuit it refreshes it.
     
  20. haccord141

    haccord141 Senior Member

    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Location:
    So Cali
    how do you get into ms-dos mode if i can't completely boot up the laptop. It is windows2k?

    I went into the w2k advanced opyions menu and this is what i got:

    Please select an option:

    safe mode
    safemode w/ networking
    safemode w/ command prompt

    enable boot logging
    enable vga mode
    last known good config
    directory services restore mode (w2k domain controllers only)
    debugging mode

    boot normally


    what do i do to get into ms-dos mode without the laptop completely booting up?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page