1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hamby's Turbo D15Z1

Discussion in 'Civic and del Sol - EG and EK' started by hondacivicdx92, Jul 2, 2008.

  1. hondacivicdx92

    hondacivicdx92 Hamby

    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Location:
    Indiana
    Ok, so i posted a thread ( http://hondaswap.com/civic-del-sol-eg-ek/out-b-back-goes-d-129746/ ) about my swapping back from the B18B1 to my D15Z1. Now for those who are thinking the same thing I would be if I just read this, why the hell would he do that, well if you read my other thread you will know why. Anyway, the motor is back in, the turbo is done, and it's boosted. Now I am only running 5 to 6 PSI for now but eventually I am going to build a D16Z6 and will be able to run a lot more boost. It now has a T3/T4 turbo, 2.5 " downpipe, knock-off BLOV, adjustable fuel pressure regulator, and a front mount. Here are a few pics of my ride. Feel free to leave comments and suggestions.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  2. mintoxik

    mintoxik Member

    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Location:
    Oceanside
    very shiniy intercooler i like it
     
  3. efhondakid

    efhondakid My name is Byron. VIP

    Messages:
    7,034
    Likes Received:
    202
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Location:
    Akron-Canton, Ohio
    Get rid of the Altezzas, other than that it looks pretty good.
     
  4. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    So what are you using for tuning? Oh, right...never mind...it's not necessary, right?
     
  5. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    Cooooool. Any dyno on the Z1?
     
  6. Bkkfarang

    Bkkfarang New Member

    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Location:
    Bangkok and Shenzhen
    is it just me or is the waste gate dumping on to the air filter ? oh and i agree with efhondakid get rid of the Altezzas, also what bumper will you run ?
     
  7. hondacivicdx92

    hondacivicdx92 Hamby

    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Location:
    Indiana
    For your info brutal, I did have it tuned, and I never said that you don't need to have it tuned because that would be false. All I said previously is that engine management is not necessary.

    No dyno yet, I won't be able to get it on a dyno till I go back this semester.

    The wastegate is not dumping into the filter, it dumps right next to the filter but it will have a dump tube soon. have to get a flange and I am going to be running stock bumpers( yes the ic piping will have to be changed slightly).
     
  8. awptickes

    awptickes unimpressed by you VIP

    Messages:
    9,278
    Likes Received:
    499
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    MD
    What RPM does the t3 begin to make boost at? Peak boost? What are the trims?
     
  9. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    Are you talking about tuning with an FMU then?
     
  10. hondacivicdx92

    hondacivicdx92 Hamby

    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Location:
    Indiana
    basically. you can fool you stock ecu by using a "missing link", retarding the timing, and turning up you fuel pressure by either using an AFPR or using an FMU. By doing this, you can safely run 5 to 6 psi.
     
  11. robertbergl

    robertbergl New Member

    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    14
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Location:
    Georgia
    Nice! Other than the altezzas that is the same thing I want to do with my Y8.
     
  12. jinji85

    jinji85 New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    hi my english too bad. i have d15z1 turbo .use ecu p1j chipped converted to vtec evreting is good.
    i need bin setup ?and fuel compesation timming ign
     
  13. PhyRe

    PhyRe Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,002
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Location:
    ct
    dont need to read y u did it i know d > b. and as for "safely" running a fmu i dunno bout that. it will work but u cant romp on it u cant dyno it safely to many uncertainties. but looks good n good luck. keep the ricer lights its that "sleeper" look
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page