1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Harnness Trouble

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by BrowNKiD, Aug 24, 2004.

  1. BrowNKiD

    BrowNKiD Member

    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    i have a b18c5 and im gonna put it in my eg hb... can i use the b18c5 harness?? i know i can modefy the civic harness but can i use the b18c5 harnnes... if i use the b18c5 harness everything will jus plug into a chiped p28... rite?
     
  2. civicownzjuu

    civicownzjuu Junior Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2004
    Location:
    Tacoma, WA
    answer is yes.. but you must change the dizzy, injectors, and a few plugs from an OBDI motor, such as the OBD1 GSR... i think? thats what info i got when i asked about putting my OBDII b18c1 into my 94 coupe... i'm thinkin its best to just modify the stock harness, cause getting the dizzy, injectors, etc.. well, it could probably cost some money... considering stock honda sh*t is way overpriced (i.e. JDM parts)
     
  3. BrowNKiD

    BrowNKiD Member

    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
  4. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    Disregaurd the previous post, as it is misinformation.

    The B18C5 harness (USDM) will plug into your OBD I Civic just fine. You will not have to change any parts, because you will be using it's own harness. You only have to swap plugs if you are using an OBD I harness on the OBD II motor because OBD I plugs don't fit.

    Dizzy is the distributor.
     
  5. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    30,018
    Likes Received:
    3,948
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
  6. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home


    but depending on the moidel of your car, it still might not work--

    the shocktower conenctor to the ecu will not have the wires for vtec, etc....

    honestly, you're better off just using your stock harness, swapping the dist., alt, and injector clips, and hard-wriing the vtec into the ecu
     
  7. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    The shock tower connections will be fine, and I'd rather run a couple wires than replace $700 worth of parts.
     
  8. BrowNKiD

    BrowNKiD Member

    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    arent the parts from the b18c5 motor better anyway?
     
  9. BrowNKiD

    BrowNKiD Member

    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    i think it got it itr haness plugs into civic shock tower? but what happends to the odb2 stuff like the second o2 sensor. do i take them out or jus leave them?
     
  10. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    ITR harness plugs into teh 5th gen Civic.

    Depends on the ECU you use.
     
  11. BrowNKiD

    BrowNKiD Member

    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    but wat happends to the odb2 stuff like the o2 sensor?
     
  12. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    30,018
    Likes Received:
    3,948
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    if you use an OBD-1 ECU then they just sit there... you can leave em there or tear the fuckers out ... it really wont matter the ECU wont look for them, wont know that they are there, wouldnt know what to do with them if it did

    if you use an OBD-2 ECU then you will need to wire them all up
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page