1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Having a few problems with my system

Discussion in 'Car Audio / Security / Electronic Accessories' started by trappd-in-859, Dec 21, 2005.

  1. trappd-in-859

    trappd-in-859 New Member

    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Location:
    burlington, ky
    I just recently installed 2 10" subs and a 2-way amp into my car. The problem is, sometimes they work and sometimes they don't. I am thinking it's the amp because when I tried using another pair of speakers I had the same problem.

    I have double checked all the connections and they are very secure and everything is properly grounded.

    This is a brand new system and it came as a combo so I know it is the right amp to use for the subs and vise versa.

    What I need to know is if I need a new amp or not? Its not exactly top of the line(got the amp and subs from pepboys as an early christmas gift) but there shouldnt be this kind of problem this early in the systems life.

    TIA for all help.
     
  2. neonmike

    neonmike Senior Member VIP

    Messages:
    1,308
    Likes Received:
    114
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    first things first check your underhood fuse, it may look good but inspect it carefully it could be blown and that is what is makin it cut in and out. if that doesnt work i would definatly make sure the ground is on a bare metal good spot. if all this checks out bring the amp back and have it replaced.
     
  3. trappd-in-859

    trappd-in-859 New Member

    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Location:
    burlington, ky
    The underhood fuse is not broken, just checked it. Could it be that the remote wire came loose at some point in time? Could that be causing this problem?

    When I first installed it, it worked perfectly. No distortion, no missed beats, no nothing. After about an hour or so is when the problems started to happen.

    I wont be able to take the amp back because it was bought on sale.

    Im using 14 gauge speaker wire so I dont know if I would need to upgrade to like 10 gauge or something.

    I think the amp is like 400w max.
     
  4. TommyTheCat

    TommyTheCat Gonzo Scientist

    Messages:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    Wire shouldnt be a problem, im substituing my 16 gauge speaker wire to run 800-1000W to my sub.

    That is until I get offline and install my new 30 band EQ and 4-channel today.
     
  5. trappd-in-859

    trappd-in-859 New Member

    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Location:
    burlington, ky
    Got a new problem, lol. My front speakers cut out but my subs still work. Then my subs stopped working and my front speakers work now.

    Found the solution to the previous problem. The outputs werent connected to the back of the head unit.

    I guess Ill have to pull the deck again to find out if there are any loose wires [​IMG] .
     
  6. 90accordlx

    90accordlx Junior Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    the front speakers im not exactly sure on that but, it sounds like another wiring issue with the amp.
     
  7. hcivic.com

    hcivic.com Senior Member

    Messages:
    4,571
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Location:
    Calgary Alberta canada
    the mess seems to be in your wiring?
     
  8. cheese9988

    cheese9988 Senior Member VIP

    Messages:
    1,990
    Likes Received:
    251
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2003
    Location:
    Lowell, MA
    Is there any indicator lights on it to tell you if the amp is shutting off or not? Or a protection light?
     
  9. CiViC_SOHC

    CiViC_SOHC Senior Member

    Messages:
    939
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    I think its your headunit....could be that your headunit is getting ready to go or your connection TO the headunit are shitty...actually SOLDER them together...that helps alot!
     
  10. trappd-in-859

    trappd-in-859 New Member

    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Location:
    burlington, ky
    The wires that connected the subs to the amp were backwards. I switched them around and now both subs work perfectly.

    I fixed the problem with the subs and speakers cutting out. Just pushed the headunit up and havent had a problem since.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page