1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

head bolts/throttle body gasket

Discussion in 'General Tech and Maintenance' started by kingwilly, Oct 1, 2003.

  1. kingwilly

    kingwilly Senior Member

    Messages:
    349
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Location:
    arizona
    its time for me to change my head gasket and i need to know what head bolts to get? and what throttle body gasket to get? i have a jdm b16/pr3 so can i get 00 civic si bolts and gasket? thanks for any replies..reason im asking about the throttle body gasket is cuz my old one is tore up and i think thats why my rpm's were high,but anyways i need to get head bolts so i can replace my head gasket and i need to know what to get?
     
  2. riceboy

    riceboy Member

    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Location:
    Dallas
    why cant you re-use the head bolts that are on the motor now? But if you wanna change them, get B17A1 92-93 GS-R head bolts from an acura dealership, same witht he headgasket, t-body gasket and damn near anything else for a B16A1.

    ARP does make b16A head studs I believe, and instead of buying stock honda head bolts, I'd reccommend studs.
     
  3. kingwilly

    kingwilly Senior Member

    Messages:
    349
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Location:
    arizona
    thanks for the info...ill check that out...riceboy,what part of the z10 is a little bent?do you have any pics of it?
     
  4. riceboy

    riceboy Member

    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Location:
    Dallas
    it is bent right infront of the passenger side radius rod connection to the crossmember. There is a little crack there that I got MIG'd up today, I had a pic, but I cant find it on my computer now.

    We are about to throw it on a buddy of mines car, so unless I get a stout offer, its pretty much not up for grabs.
     
  5. B16

    B16 Super Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,539
    Likes Received:
    534
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    yay area, CA
    i would NOT re use the head bolts, when torquing down my head when changing the gasket the head of the bolt broke off at about 20ft lbs. get ARP
     
  6. kingwilly

    kingwilly Senior Member

    Messages:
    349
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Location:
    arizona
    are the jdm b16 head bolts TTY?..so you dont think is hould re-use them or is it possible?what are the torque specs for the head bolts?...thanks for the reply's
     
  7. daudzcool

    daudzcool New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006

    I am a newbie and its the first time i have opened the engine to work on my car.
    my head gasket was burnet and coolant was leakin in.
    ive opened the head to change the gasket (not shaving head cuz ive had it checked and its perfectly straight)

    But wut i dont get is whats this "HEAD BOLTS" you guys are talking about?
    are these the long bolts that bolts the head tight to the engine below??

    im sorry if its a dumb question, but i just want to make sure :(
    Y should the bolts be changed? My bolts "LOOKS" perfectly fine:mellow:
    btw my car is honda civic DX 1.5L ENGINE -->D15
     
  8. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    ^^^ start your own thread if you have a problem..
     
  9. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,577
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    OE honda head bolts SUCK because they stretch.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page