Head Gasket questions-A lot

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

Ripper95DS

Ok, well I got in my 95 Honda Del Sol 1.5 to drive to burger king, all is well, I come home shut it off.
Three days later I go to start it up and it started really rough, I mean earthquake rough. Bear with me I'm familiar with engines and such but theres a crapload I dont know, so I'm a bit of a newbie. So it wouldn't stay running, if I let up off the accel. it just stalled. My girlfreinds dad said I blew a head gasket and o boy its fucked blah blah blah, but hes the type of devious asshole who will lie, make things seem worse than they really are and tell you theres no hope, just because hes a worthless piece of shit and wants nothing good to happen to anyone. SO...I thought I'd check here. Btw the car is Automatic. Anyway so the coolant is pretty low in the overflow but is still bright green. The oil looks like it might have water in it, so maybe it got into my crankbox? I found a kit online that comes with the Head Gasket, new seals for intake and exhaust, and a whole bunch of other crap. for 130 shipped. Should I buy this? Also I have a haynes manual but cant find it right now, o yay, but if anyone knows is there a walkthrough in there for doing this job? We've got a garage full of tools so thats covered, how long will it take to disassemble it to where we're down to the Gasket? Overall job length?

Sale is pending on the car so I need to get this fixed for the guy asap. So with that kit should I be ok? Now this has only been started a few times so I'm sure damage should be minimul to the surfaces, I hope. Will I have to get it machined, how much does that cost?

I'd appreciate any feedback on this as I cant trust one source, I really am stuck here, hope to hear back soon.

Thanks

Do you have a compression tester? Run a quick test it will tell you if you have a blown head gasket.