1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Head Gasket

Discussion in 'Engine Building' started by KyleCrews, May 22, 2003.

  1. KyleCrews

    KyleCrews Senior Member

    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2003
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    I've heard that an easy way to rasie the compression ratio of my h23 would be to remove one of the three layers of my head gasket. I'll have the engine out of the car and pretty much dismantled so i figured why not. My question is do you think i will have to get a new head gasket and just leave a layer out or could i reuse the one thats on there. The engine only has about 45,000 miles on it. Also if removing one layer bumps the compression up some then would removing two layers raise it more or is this not a smart thing to do. Just looking for a few extra horses because i don't have the money for higher compression pistions. Also about how much more compression could i expect by removing one or two layers of the gasket. Thanxs.
     
  2. pills_PMD

    pills_PMD Super Moderator

    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    New Albany, OH
    never reuse a head gasket.. get a new one.. i wouldn't remove more than one of them.

    maybe mill the head .020 while its out instead
     
  3. KyleCrews

    KyleCrews Senior Member

    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2003
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    About how much would it cost to get the head milled? And does anyone know a place near Jacksonville FL that i can get it milled.
     
  4. ihitvtec

    ihitvtec Junior Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 17, 2003
    well first what kind of compression are you wanting to run
     
  5. KyleCrews

    KyleCrews Senior Member

    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2003
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    I'm thinking now that i'm going to wait to do all that cause i'll have to get a new gasket when i do that H23vtec next month. I'd like to raise it close to what the h22 is running. I think the h23 is like 9.0 and the vtec is 10.6. I'd be milling the h22 head. Is it possible to raise it that much without gettting higher compression pistons? And if i do raise it is there anything else i will need to get such as stronger head bolts from arp or something?
     
  6. pills_PMD

    pills_PMD Super Moderator

    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    New Albany, OH
    i wouldn't worry to much about just .020

    i paaid like 30 bucks to get mine done

    i'd guess you'd bump the compression by like .3 or .4
     
  7. honda_mach3

    honda_mach3 Senior Member

    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    milling the head is a risky modification, either remove two gaskets, two is fine, as long as your deck surface is a smooth as a model's butt, or get custom pistons by JE. JE makes great custom piston. i had on JE 12.5:1 piston, but putting the B16A2 head will lower it, so i removed 2 gaskets, but i had it smoothed out to .0001, which is barely anything.
     
  8. ek9r

    ek9r Senior Member

    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    Location:
    Long Island NY
    when pulling a layer or two off the head gasket, what do you do about those small brass rings that hold the three layers together, remove, or leave on? Are they needed?
     
  9. D See 2

    D See 2 Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    NO, you cannot remove more than one layer from your oem honda head gasket. each of the outside area of the two outter layers have a black coating (sealant) on them, so to have bare metal to bare metal on a head gasket would be insane. the only layer you can take out is the middle layer because the other two have sealing coating on them. see below how the outter layer has the black coating?

    [​IMG]
     
  10. JDMilan

    JDMilan Senior Member

    Messages:
    6,730
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 11, 2003
    Location:
    Boca Raton, FL
    the brass fittings are cut and thrown out, and yes, only ONE layer taken from oem.


    Milan
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page