1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Headlight No Work

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by IDMaxGuy, May 18, 2003.

  1. IDMaxGuy

    IDMaxGuy Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,479
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Location:
    MO
    I have a 96 Accord EX. My right headlight is messed up somehow, dont know how, but it is, I think it might be a short or the plug but I dont know. I have Street Glow Xenon Bulbs and Ive went through 3 of them on that side already the one that is in now is not blown, so while my lights were on, i unplugged it and plugged it back in, then it worked so i thought maybe i just didnt plug it in all the way. It went out again, so thinking that if i just unplugged it and plugged it in again, it would work. Well when i raised my hood the light came on again :huh: well now it wont work at all, any suggestions, i dont wanna take it and pay to have some place test it so i thought id ask u guys, if it is a short how do i go about fixing it. Thanks In advance.
     
  2. sirkurtius

    sirkurtius Member

    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2003
    Location:
    toronto canada
    when u turn on your lights and then turn your highbeams do your some of your lights go out
    is the car normally in hot weather or really cold weather?
    if your car does this it may be relay that sticks open .
    is your car a american or canadian model?
     
  3. IDMaxGuy

    IDMaxGuy Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,479
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Location:
    MO
    The high beams work, I havent noticed any other lights going out. I have the canadian model. i live in missouri so the car is in both weather.
     
  4. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    It sounds like some of the wiring or your contacts going to the low beams aren't in such great shape...

    Have you tried swapping the bulbs between housings? What about a different plug? Aftermarket bulbs can sometimes fry your wiring if they're significantly higher in power draw.
     
  5. liquid00meth

    liquid00meth Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Location:
    Laconia, NH
    make sure no wire is loose and grounding, and make sure you don't get fingerprints on the blub when installing it.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page