Heel and Toe technique explained

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

I already know how, but this explains it very well... nice article ;)

they make a good point about pedals... just a littlebit to add, be careful what pedals you get if you get aftermarket pedals... some of them are too thik and you'll have to use the old fashion method of heal-toe... usually the ones they say were made for heal-toe are usually not good for heal toe... ( found that out the hard way) Because Hondas/Acuras have a small area for pedals, it is usually good to get aftermarket pedals that have a slightly larger pedal area then the stock pedals and that bring the accellerator pedal forward. they will usually have a small foam peace that will do that for you. I heard that it is better to replace the entire pedal assemby not just put covers on, but I personally haven't felt a difference. :unsure:

i wish i had read that last year, before i started playing around at Auto-X's

Originally posted by MaaseyRacer@Oct 19 2003, 12:40 AM
i wish i had read that last year, before i started playing around at Auto-X's

Well from talking to many experienced and good autocrossers, once they get their car into second gear, they just stay in second for the whole rest of the course. Once in a great while if there is a long straight stretch, they might go into third. But lots of shifting is frowned upon. That's my observations from CT autocrossing and the Mazdaspeed event in the Boston area. One competitor in a teg is very adept at left foot braking while cornering though...

yea, the heal toe is hard to do on a 1g Mr2 :( pedals are too close together.... i'll have to give it whirl on the crx.... see if it actually helps or not...