1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help d16 build

Discussion in 'Civic and del Sol - EG and EK' started by rkwoos12, Nov 2, 2008.

  1. rkwoos12

    rkwoos12 New Member

    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Location:
    Kentucky
    hey guys im looking to rebuild my blown d16z6 vtec engine would like to build it ready for turbo planing on puting one on it later. so heres what i need help with what all would i need to do to build my d16?

    a list of stuff i will be needing would be great, thanks kent.
     
  2. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    How much power are you looking to make?
     
  3. rkwoos12

    rkwoos12 New Member

    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Location:
    Kentucky
    not too much about 160 hp or better would be great, or i really just want to beef it up so it will handle a turbo later on
     
  4. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    Well you're going about it the wrong way. If you want to build an engine up for turbo then don't worry about adding any horsepower to it at the moment, just worry about making sure it's properly built. How much power do you hope to make with the turbo installed?
     
  5. rkwoos12

    rkwoos12 New Member

    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Location:
    Kentucky
    im not sure i just want an engine built for a turbo to run any where from 10 to 15psi of boost. probably 200
    hp to 250hp. nothing too crazy
     
  6. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    PSI is somewhat irrelevant because different turbos will make different numbers at the same PSI. Honestly, if you're looking for 200ish horses then you really don't need to do much. A good stock rebuild plus ARP hardware should work just fine...
     
  7. rkwoos12

    rkwoos12 New Member

    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Location:
    Kentucky
    ARP hardware? whats that and its purpose
     
  8. psychopathic

    psychopathic New Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    mostly he is just talking about ARP head studs, instead of bolts. they are stronger and they dont "stretch"
     
  9. HATCHET_HONDA

    HATCHET_HONDA scottie fizzle

    Messages:
    764
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Location:
    hobart, indiana

    yessir.. them studs make a difference in sealing that head gasket. it works better by pulling down on the head instead of pulling up on the block as with factory bolts^_^
     
  10. rkwoos12

    rkwoos12 New Member

    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Location:
    Kentucky
    oh ok
    i understand
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page