1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HELP:obd2a to obd1

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by so_so_swift, Mar 9, 2007.

  1. so_so_swift

    so_so_swift Junior Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    i got a obd1 b18b1 motor and swaped it into my 96 ek DX hatch and having a hard time figuring out how to convert the harness to obd1... how many plugs would i have to change? i have the jumper harness already... juss the wiring harness from the firewall to the motor... HOW MANY PLUGS DO I HAVE TO CHANGE AND HOW MANY ARE NOT PLUG TO THE MOTOR...??? LET ME KNOW HAVING A HARD TIME AND BOUT TO KILL MYSELF...
     
  2. boostin4fun

    boostin4fun Boosted ls/vtec ohh yeah!

    Messages:
    861
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Location:
    Omaha

    This advice is assuming that everything on your engine is obd1. You would need to change the distributor plugs, injector plugs, and i think the alternator plug. But to make things a little easier try and find some ls obd2 injectors so you wont have to hack the plugs off. Also you could get a ls obd2 distributor and alternator to save even more chopping if you wanted. That would make your harness plug and play.
     
  3. JDM_EK9R

    JDM_EK9R all motor

    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Location:
    central, NJ
    whoa...i thought if you have the jumper harness you dont need to change anything. could be wrong but im almost positive. i had a 99 b16a2 in my ek hatch and i ran an obd2a-obd1 jumper with a p72 and i had no check engine ... nothin
     
  4. b18c1vic

    b18c1vic Junior Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    No what they are talking about is the engine side of the harness and changing over all the engine wiring, due to the fact of the motor being obd1.
     
  5. so_so_swift

    so_so_swift Junior Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    on the distributor i want to change to a obd1 plug and how do know which color goes where...
     
  6. HATCHET_HONDA

    HATCHET_HONDA scottie fizzle

    Messages:
    764
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Location:
    hobart, indiana
    i gott a p28 ecu for my obd1 jdm d15b...anyone know what o2 sensor i have to use? is it the 4 wire?
     
  7. boostin4fun

    boostin4fun Boosted ls/vtec ohh yeah!

    Messages:
    861
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Location:
    Omaha
    Yes, you use a 4 wire o2.
     
  8. HATCHET_HONDA

    HATCHET_HONDA scottie fizzle

    Messages:
    764
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Location:
    hobart, indiana
    so the wires form the obd conversion harness are used on the new sensor righ? just leave the one wire plug unhooked from the engine harness?
     
  9. boostin4fun

    boostin4fun Boosted ls/vtec ohh yeah!

    Messages:
    861
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Location:
    Omaha
    Yes
     
  10. slickzsmilez

    slickzsmilez New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    hey hachet honda I have a d15b and doing a swap in my 97 civic with it what do I do to get the distributer plug to work with the engine wiring harness its a obd2 car but the engine and distributer are obd1.
     
  11. jdtim

    jdtim New Member

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    damn.. i always that that if you get the conversion harness, everything is plug & play...now im not as excited for the swap as before...
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page