1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help! Swap engines, now no start

Discussion in 'Civic and CRX - EF' started by lancemah, Sep 3, 2009.

  1. lancemah

    lancemah New Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Location:
    toronto
    I picked up a 92 or 93 civic with a d15b7 in it.(blown)
    was running up untill it blew. I found a d16a6 motor only for it,......please keep in mind this was my first swap.... Threw the d15 tranny on it with the 15 fly/clutch. Threw it all together the way i took it apart. So i thought.wired it up. Fluids, battery, and....nothing. I got power in side the car. Im sure its not the fuel pump.
    I hear a relay or something clicking when i try to turn over. No cranking tho??? I no everybody has ran into this one time or another. Oh ya, the intake seems a bit different, theres a plug that i cant plug. And some vaccum lines that i dont no where they go. Other than that everything went smooth.....any help i can get on this one is great. Thank you
     
  2. spacemanspiff

    spacemanspiff New Member

    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Location:
    outside philly
    did you chnge the ecu? ones vtec the other isnt i believe. your ignition switch maybe shot or something in the wiring to the starter, try jumping power to the solenoid on the starter. as for the extra vac lines look up a vacuum diagram online and hook them up the best you can and plug the extra ones. vac leaks will cause major drivability issues later once its running.
     
  3. D16SiHatch

    D16SiHatch New Member

    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    44
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    no need to change ecu's, they are both sohc non-vtec ecu's. the connector you're unable to plug in is most likely the ficsv on the back driverside area of the intake. it won't be used. it of course would be easier if you just put the d15b7 intake mani on the d16a6 head.
     
  4. spacemanspiff

    spacemanspiff New Member

    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Location:
    outside philly
    yea my bad on that i was looking up the wrong engine.
     
  5. lancemah

    lancemah New Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Location:
    toronto
    so it ended up being a loose ground........ fired up and all,but is surging.....idle is all out of wack, but when i step on throttle!!!!!oh yeah, now i remember why im a honda lover
     
  6. lancemah

    lancemah New Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Location:
    toronto

    i see your all over this site......hears one for you,when i rehooked everything bac up, i noticed two loose wires, one ficsv, the other probley the plug that goes on stock intake.....but i got a few vaccum lines loose. and there is a bracket that holds two hoses,,,,one from the valve cover to the.....? and onefrom the block to....? it as rad fluid in it. but got no where to plug her....so i pluged it up......then there was hot rad fluid leaking near the passenger side intake mani....?
     
  7. lancemah

    lancemah New Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Location:
    toronto
    "one from valve cover to air in take"
     
  8. D16SiHatch

    D16SiHatch New Member

    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    44
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    so you're still using the a6 intake manifold but are you also using the a6 throttle body?, or did you swap over the b7 tb? if you haven't, then do so. this will allow you to plug back in your map sensor, and then run the coolant lines properly through the fitv. the a6 tb doesn't have a fitv. the coolant line you're trying to figure out you'll see in this picture. theres a port on the intake mani which goes up into a hose where it then enters the little metal half vacuum/half coolant muhjigger. when it leaves that piece the coolant will then enter the fitv. after it leaves there it enters the iacv. and once it leaves the iacv, the coolant will drop down and drain into the water pipe on the back of the block.

    [​IMG]
     
  9. lancemah

    lancemah New Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Location:
    toronto
    yep swapped the b7 throttle over on the a6.....man your so resorceful, this site should be call "talk to d16sihatch.com"i appreciate allyour help, and willkeep ya updated
    thanks again
     
  10. lancemah

    lancemah New Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Location:
    toronto
    oh, and by chance do yo have a similar diagram of the vacum lines?
     
  11. D16SiHatch

    D16SiHatch New Member

    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    44
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    ha, i appreciate the sentiment. happy to be of service

    sure do. since you have a 93 civic but are using the a6 intake manifold i'll just give ya pics of both setups. that way you can hopefully figure out what needs to go where. first is the d15b7, second is the d16a6.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  12. lancemah

    lancemah New Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Location:
    toronto
    so,,,,,, now that i basically finished the swap....i picked up a b16a1 with everything from axles to ecu and harness...got any helpful hints?
     
  13. lancemah

    lancemah New Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Location:
    toronto
    im a little stumped here d16, im thankful for the help, but i got a few issues.
    where the "2" rad hose come from the engine to the tb....there is already a hose attahed there. it comes from the main line under the intake mani.....do i unplug this one and cap it...then feed the line fron the engine to the tb?
    and for those vaccum lines.....i am still raising ??????'s .
    there are lines that run here and there that i cant find...the intakes are different, and have xtra line or ....? when i start up the rpms surge. it runs good under throttle. when it warms up the rpms relax a bit, but then i smell what seems to me to be coolent. i cant really see any spill, but deffently smell it. the sensor on the ex mani is not wired. the wires dilodge from the plug, im unsure of the sequence they go.
    im glad its started and all, but till she runs good i wont be fullfilled. any remarks on this one? besides im an idiot........
     
  14. D16SiHatch

    D16SiHatch New Member

    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    44
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    i'm not really sure how else i can help you. the pic shows exactly where everything needs to go. maybe if you can take a picture of what has you confused i'll be able to help you out.

    what sensor on the intake mani are you not sure about?
     
  15. lancemah

    lancemah New Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Location:
    toronto


    oh no, its the sensor on the exhaust manifold.
    o2 sensor?? im not sure...but its not a problem right now , i think?
    i appriciate all your help.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page