1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help!?! throwing codes!!!

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> ED-EF / DA' started by TDaddy, Apr 7, 2004.

  1. TDaddy

    TDaddy Senior Member

    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Location:
    California
    Finished the swap and only getting two codes...

    1. tps
    2. eld

    any suggestions?


    I heard the eld may be a problem with the dizzy wiring...and the tps may be bad...there was no wiring involved there...
     
  2. brian11to1

    brian11to1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    9,203
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    on the TPS uhmm are there screws or rivits? if there are rivets get a dremel cut grooves in to them adn loosen them, then move the TPS around a little. as far as the eld, never heard of it. good luck
     
  3. cycloneb18c3

    cycloneb18c3 Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Location:
    New Jersey
    the tps adjust it
    and for the ELD its something with the alternator I belive.
     
  4. TDaddy

    TDaddy Senior Member

    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Location:
    California
    Misti was talking to B and he said the ELD(Electric Load Detector) code had something to do with the dizzy...

    as for the tps it's screwed on...and we moved it around and then reset the ecu and still throwing the tps code. :shrug2:

    Does anyone know how to properly reset the ecu? We took out the ecu fuse in the under the hood fuse box for 10 seconds or more like the our del sol helms said...so I guess that's right...but I wanna make sure i'm doing it right...so that i'm not picking up the same 'old' codes.

    Thanks

    -dave
     
  5. Smonkeyboy

    Smonkeyboy Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,775
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    did you put one of the new cover sheets on it??? .....ill resend you that memo :D



    j/j dude, i had to
     
  6. StarBellieAngel

    StarBellieAngel Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,679
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Location:
    San Jose, CA


    :shrug: i have NO idea what any of that means.
     
  7. cycloneb18c3

    cycloneb18c3 Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Location:
    New Jersey
    pulling out the fuse works.........TPS- if you need a new one you can probably get one from honda motorcycles for a CBR 600, its the same exact thing as a honda car tps sensor. ELD.....hrm....electronic load detector.....dont know about that.......
     
  8. StarBellieAngel

    StarBellieAngel Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,679
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    TPS problem fixed.

    ELD - found out car has no ELD... ecu trying to find what's not there, then throwing code.

    WHAT DO I DO TO GET IT TO STOP THROWING THIS CODE? it's all i need to do... :)

    btw- if you don't know, i'm TDaddy's wife... it is after all... MY car. hehe
     
  9. TDaddy

    TDaddy Senior Member

    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Location:
    California
    Smonkeyboy :huh:

    what she said...

    oh..and pulling out the fuse didn't work...i tried pulling the fuse like i said before and no change in the codes...then today i disconnected the battery terminals and voila! tps code gone... :shrug2:

    It looks like we're gonna just let the eld be...as we can't turn it off with the ecu we're running...so i guess we'll just take it to the ref and hope for the best...
     
  10. BlackFrog

    BlackFrog Neighborhood Lush

    Messages:
    707
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Location:
    North Freakin' Idaho
    if your CEL is on, you should fail automatically. hopefully the laws where you are are different then here.

    I dont think 10 seconds is long enough with the fuse out, i think its more like 5 or 10 minutes. but if disconnecting the battery worked, then it worked.
     
  11. TDaddy

    TDaddy Senior Member

    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Location:
    California
    I installed a toggle switch to make the CEL turn off and on for the codes...with it off there are no CEL blinkings....so i should be coo right?
     
  12. Bl6CRX

    Bl6CRX Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2003
    Location:
    UCLA
    sounds like it, with it on does it just light up solid, it should, if there are no codes throwing you should have worked out the wiring problems, drive her around a little make sure there is nothing mechanical that will throw one
     
  13. MikeBergy

    MikeBergy Blah blah blah....

    Messages:
    3,646
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Location:
    Central Coast, CALI
    Let me know how your time at the ref goes, I pm'ed starbellieangel a lit while ago about the problems I heard about with running the pr3 ecu and trying to get it past carb. Good luck, and pm me if you pass it with the obd0 stuff.
     
  14. MikeBergy

    MikeBergy Blah blah blah....

    Messages:
    3,646
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Location:
    Central Coast, CALI

    it's from office space. Yeaah, tps reports, haha. sorry for the thread jacking.
     
  15. TDaddy

    TDaddy Senior Member

    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Location:
    California
    Yeah..apparently the ref know's some stuff....no slippin stuff by him...we won't even be able to slip a JDM P30 past him. But he's been pretty cool about it and helpful too.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page