Help with b18b head port and polish

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

projectxspeed

A while ago there was a good thread on port and polishing. I am about to atempt it myself. Could anyone point me in the right direction of that thread, or offer some advice.

I have no idea what I am doing that is why I posted. I have never done machine work before, but I just found my dremel :).

Ok your port matching which is pretty simple, just cut untill you get it as even and smooth as possible then get another bit to smooth it down.

I'm sure there is a special tool you can buy to mark it but I just eyeballed all the ones I did, probably a few mms (2-3?), and made the new gasket match my work.

They came out nice, there are some pics in my gallery. I also went ahead and ported the intake manifold and TB, which beyond what everyone says made a big difference in throttle response.

I'm not sure what else to tell you, ask and I'll explain as best as I can.

I think your wasting time. Everybody knows the first thing you do with a LS motor is slap a vtec head on it. ;)

Ok well you give 350 - 500 to buy the vtec and I will do that :bash: . In the mean time the ls head I have is free. So I am trying to make the best of what I have. Anyone have opinions of my work so far.

I get what your saying, but I don't think taking a grinder to your cylinder head is the best idea if you don't know exactly what your doing. I doubt a little grinding hear and there will really help enough to make a big difference anyways. I haven't looked into porting and polishing cylinder heads too much, but here is some info that might help ya.

http://www.theoldone.com/components/cylinderheads/

it doesn't look too bad, its still in the beginning stages so you can't really tell yet.

Originally posted by beerbongskickass@Feb 6 2005, 06:22 PM
I think your wasting time. Everybody knows the first thing you do with a LS motor is slap a vtec head on it. ;)