1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help with IT-R in EK problems, PLEASE!!!!

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by IT-R Coupe, Dec 12, 2004.

  1. IT-R Coupe

    IT-R Coupe Junior Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    I just installed a 98 It-r into my 99 civic si. The engine is running now but i have several codes. the main one i'm concerned about is the TDC code. I had to splice the crankshaft fluctuation sensor into the TDC wires in the distributor. i had them in both places and it threw a code both times. Did i splice them into the right wires or should it be somewhere else. Also i am not getting any voltage to the IAC motor. there is only one wire in the sensor that hooks to the IAC but it looks like on schematics that there are two. Last, there is a code for the engine coolant temp. Can't figure this one out. Engines not over heating but the radiator is pretty hot just after a short time of running. Anyone please help. Thanks
     
  2. 97CTR

    97CTR Senior Member

    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    I don't see why you would have to splice any wires in the distributor with that swap (obd2a to obd2b?) Also if you are getting an ect code you may want to try checking to make sure that the sensors are connected correctly. The ect and another sensor share the same kind of plug. As for the overheating, do you have enough coolant. That would be the first thing to check.
     
  3. IT-R Coupe

    IT-R Coupe Junior Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    I HAD TO SWITH FROM OBD II B TO OBD II A. AS FAR AS THE ECT I THE SENSOR HAS 2 WIRES GOING INTO THE PLUG. IT HAS A 12V REF. SIGNAL. MY IAC HAS NO SIGNAL AT ALL. THERE IS ONLY ONE WIRE GOING INTO THE PLUG. DOES THIS SEEM RIGHT? I ADDED COOLANT TO TRY AND FIX THE HEATING PROBLEM BUT HAVEN'T RAN IT LONG ENOUGH SINCE I ADDED THE COOLANT.
     
  4. IT-R Coupe

    IT-R Coupe Junior Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    97CTR. FOR YOUR SWAP DID YOU HAVE TO SPLICE INTO THE DISTRIBUTOR. THEY SAID I HAD TO BECAUSE THE PCM RECOGNIZE DIFFERENT CKP SIGNALS. IS THIS TRUE. WITHOUT THE WIRES SPLICED IN THE ENGINE DIDN'T START. I SPLICED THEM INTO TDC.
     
  5. GSRCRXsi

    GSRCRXsi Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    9,623
    Likes Received:
    345
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Location:
    MD
  6. MXDesa

    MXDesa Senior Member

    Messages:
    927
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2003
    Location:
    Queens, New York
    If u still have the original motor and/or parts, why dont you use your original harness and ignition parts?
     
  7. YouKnowWhoIBee

    YouKnowWhoIBee my avatar is better.

    Messages:
    2,257
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Location:
    Maryland
    That pic is fooking awesome :D
     
  8. jspeceg

    jspeceg Junior Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2003
    use the stock harness from the si and wire it up and get a 99-00 ecu
     
  9. chicken

    chicken Senior Member

    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Location:
    Sacramento, California


    why would you get a 99-00 si ecu for if the motor is an OBD2a..??
     
  10. IT-R Coupe

    IT-R Coupe Junior Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004


    I using a 99 si wiring harness. I am using a 98 IT-R ecu.
     
  11. IT-R Coupe

    IT-R Coupe Junior Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004

    Also the engine is OBD II B
     
  12. IT-R Coupe

    IT-R Coupe Junior Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004

    I am using the 99 si wiring harness, and why would I want to switch out the ignition system, it's getting spark, and fuel. Its just that the pcm recognize different signals for starting. The si pcm recognizes signal from the crankshaft fluctuation sensor but the it-r uses camshaft position and cylinder position.
     
  13. IT-R Coupe

    IT-R Coupe Junior Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    The main problem I am having now is that the IAC is getting no voltage in or out. The sensor has only one wire going into it? Does this sound right? If I remember its red with a green trace, I think.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page