1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help with oil filter relocation kit

Discussion in 'Integra' started by SlushboxTeggy, Apr 3, 2009.

  1. SlushboxTeggy

    SlushboxTeggy It's only stupid if it doesn't work VIP

    Messages:
    9,392
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Location:
    New Jersey
    So in the fall I bought a kit from Summit. Installed it. It failed twice. I installed a regular filter and set the kit aside until it warmed up.

    Fast forward to now. I figured out that the flimsy O-ring that Summit included with the kit was the problem. It was thin and rounded, unlike any normal oil filter O-ring which are beefy, thick, and flat.
    [​IMG]

    So to solve this problem I actually removed the O-ring from an oil filter, modified it, and siliconed it into place.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    I believe with a little more silicone between the O-ring and the block I have solved the original problem with the kit. What do you think? Will it work?

    Also, do you think the new O-ring sticks out too far from piece? Should I make it smaller or is it good the way it is?
     
  2. efhondakid

    efhondakid My name is Byron. VIP

    Messages:
    7,034
    Likes Received:
    202
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Location:
    Akron-Canton, Ohio
    That should work, just make sure you dont over-tighten it, put it on like a normal oil filter, hand tight.
     
  3. INJEN78

    INJEN78 HS LEGEND

    Messages:
    9,187
    Likes Received:
    121
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    OHIO
    ^word,and i wouldnt use silicone,gas eats through that shit,and if you think about it,u have some gas in your oil(dont know if it would be enough to do harm) but id just use the gasket u made
     
  4. hondarin

    hondarin Please enter a value using 50 characters or fewer. VIP

    Messages:
    1,955
    Likes Received:
    125
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Location:
    Texas; where else?
    After you shave with your handy-dandy Gillette Fusion 5-blade razor.......

    j/k, i would put some hondabond between the block and the gasket if you're worried about it leaking.
     
  5. civicious

    civicious FüK-VTEC VIP

    Messages:
    9,855
    Likes Received:
    629
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Location:
    Houston, TX

    uhhhhhh.... :no:

    RTV Silicone is used by EVERY manufacturer to seal engines, dude...most newer cars don't even have oil pan, transmisison pan, or timing cover gaskets - just silicone.



    In this particular case though, you shouldn't have to use any silicone - the o-ring should be sufficient.
     
  6. SlushboxTeggy

    SlushboxTeggy It's only stupid if it doesn't work VIP

    Messages:
    9,392
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Actually my little brother's razor. I use a Red Mach 3 Turbo. 3 blades is enough for me.
     
  7. SlushboxTeggy

    SlushboxTeggy It's only stupid if it doesn't work VIP

    Messages:
    9,392
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Yea true. I was just thinking because with the kit, it wont have to come off. Just covering my bases. But I'll just use it the way it is. If it leaks again, it's going in the trash anyway.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page