help with oil

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

ghsbaseball91

i may have gotten an answer about this b4 but i do not remember, but for somereason my car guzzles my oil and i have no clue why, i am constantly having to put more oil in it..i am fairly new to cars so plz help thank in adv.

(1) Look for puddles... pretty simple.
(2) Look for smoke out the tailpipe... blue smoke in particular... this means oil is getting into the combustion chamber. it will do this a couple of ways. first thing i'd check is the valve seals. most often they give out and you'll leak a little oil into the combustion chamber. If the car drinks it like my girlfriend's car does (3 to 4 quarts every 400 miles) then i'd have to say the rings are fried. That entails getting a new bottom end or paying to have the rings replaced. Personally, and this is if it is rings, i'd go out and find a lower mileage bottom end and just replace it. Hope this can give you a little insight to what could be the problem.

so pretty much im tryin to bank on bad valve seals, or ill have to pay a lot? cuz i kno replacing rings aint cheap

You can get a refresh kit for most D series hondas for a couple hundred bucks. I did it just a couple years ago and I think the total rebuild, including water pump, T belt, tensioner, rebuild kit, and everything else I put in there, only came to about $400...

The cost of beer was separate...That was the expensive part...

He's 16, 400 bucks may be a lot to him.

If you're mechanically inclined you could do it yourself. Maybe even if your high school has auto shop, turn the car over to them to do it for free, but beware. You're gonna have a bunch of other little 16 year olds all over your car.

yea thats kind of a lot for right now, becuase i cant work much due to baseball but i can save up if it aint a big problem to leave it alone for a while, it aint gonna hurt anything is it?