Help withD15Z1 performance

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

cleanLS

I am kinda new to hondas so dont flame me please. Anyways I have a little china sand rail that i put a d15z1 motor in and as i said i am new to the hondas and i think i fucked up when i did this swap. I used a p-28 computer, and made my own wire harness with info off this site. The engine runs fine it has a little stumble in the idle if i let it idle for more then like 3 mins. It still runs good other then that. In my quest to get more power i let some friends talk me into getting a 91SI mpfi intank, for the bigger throttle body. I already converted the o2 to a 4-wire with the p-28 computer. I need more power. The rail is still really slow, and i am disaponted with the power. Maybe i am dumb and have the wrong computer/engine combo, but its what i was told to do.
If anyone could help i would greatly appreciate it. Let me know if i am stupid and need to get a diferent computer or what ever. I was looking into geting a nasty aftermarket camshaft, but cant find anything for the D15Z1 motor. any advise would be great. Thank you in advance chris.

That is the vtec-e economy engine. It is meant for low power fuel efficiency. You need to get the P07 computer if you want it to run correctly. Also, you need the 5 wire O2, so the car can go into a lean burn cycle and proper valve operation. For what you are looking for that is not the best motor for trying to do anything except get around 50mpg.

Basically what he said ^^^^^^^... i think youll prob want to get another swap. What kinda engine and power are you lookin for, and how much $$$$$$?