1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. stev0_wic

    stev0_wic New Member

    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Location:
    connersville, IN
    I had subs hooked up to my cd player and my amp sparked one night. i turned my car off with the cd player still working and when i started my car back up, after unhooking my subs, the cd player never worked again. is there any way to fix this or is it just fried for good.
     
  2. dacheat

    dacheat ..is grounded.

    Messages:
    4,216
    Likes Received:
    205
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Location:
    strongbadia
    pretty sure if it isn't working after an event like that, it's done for. you can check the back of the cd player/head unit for a fuse; if there's one there, replace it. if that doesn't help...if you got the extendo-warranty crap from best buy (or wherever you bought the cd player from) you can give them a try. otherwise, pick up a new head unit.
     
  3. EF9_Hatch

    EF9_Hatch Yeah

    Messages:
    1,012
    Likes Received:
    38
    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Location:
    Coraopolis, PA
    Do exactly what she says. Check the fuse in the back of the radio. Also check the radio fuse in your car. If that doesnt work, and you have no warranty. Put a new head unit it.
     
  4. dacheat

    dacheat ..is grounded.

    Messages:
    4,216
    Likes Received:
    205
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Location:
    strongbadia
    :werd: i forgot about the radio fuse in the car's box. check that too! :D
     
  5. Justin66

    Justin66 The Hondaswap Canadian

    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    24
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Location:
    Peterborough, Ontario
    OMG dacheat is a girl! I didnt know that. But ya check all fuses, i have had my amp spark cause i touched the power wire to the ground connector by accident, just the amp fuse went tho.
     
  6. stev0_wic

    stev0_wic New Member

    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Location:
    connersville, IN
    ok here is this one i checked all of the fuses, the head unit turns on graphics work everything works like that, but no sound comes out i am stumped
     
  7. dacheat

    dacheat ..is grounded.

    Messages:
    4,216
    Likes Received:
    205
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Location:
    strongbadia
    have you tried it wired direct (read: no amp)? hook a speaker up to the head unit. any sound? if no, try another speaker to confirm. if still no = fried head unit as far as i'm concerned.

    :shrug:
     
  8. stev0_wic

    stev0_wic New Member

    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Location:
    connersville, IN
  9. INJEN78

    INJEN78 HS LEGEND

    Messages:
    9,187
    Likes Received:
    121
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    OHIO
    uberHOT and UBERCOOL:)
    word...my guess is that the deck is fried
     
  10. dacheat

    dacheat ..is grounded.

    Messages:
    4,216
    Likes Received:
    205
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Location:
    strongbadia
    pffffffff but thanks. :rolleyes: so anyway back to the fried head unit...
     
  11. stev0_wic

    stev0_wic New Member

    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Location:
    connersville, IN
    how do i upload pics onto a thread
     
  12. EF9_Hatch

    EF9_Hatch Yeah

    Messages:
    1,012
    Likes Received:
    38
    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Location:
    Coraopolis, PA
    Sound channels are fried. Guarantee it. My Clarion did the same thing.
     
  13. stev0_wic

    stev0_wic New Member

    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Location:
    connersville, IN
    well can that be fixed or not
     
  14. EF9_Hatch

    EF9_Hatch Yeah

    Messages:
    1,012
    Likes Received:
    38
    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Location:
    Coraopolis, PA
    It can, but honestly its not worth it cause its going to go back to the manufacturer. Your better off just getting a new head unit.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page