1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. rudeludenotmeanthough

    rudeludenotmeanthough Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Which way do i rotate my cam gears in order to Retard my timing. Im gonna go try to do a smog AGAIN today.. i need answers ASAP... ive already removed my valve cover.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    ...And yes i have a timing belt on the way...
     
  2. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    Move the mark on the outer portion of the gear towards the R on the inner section of the gear.
     
  3. rudeludenotmeanthough

    rudeludenotmeanthough Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    on both gears? about how many marks should i move them?
     
  4. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,578
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    it may be safe to say R = retard A = advance. :lol:
     
  5. Tonyd0821

    Tonyd0821 Banned

    Messages:
    5,088
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    cant you just unscrew the bolts and "adjust" the distributor cap a few degrees backwards or forwards to adjust the timing?
     
  6. rudeludenotmeanthough

    rudeludenotmeanthough Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002

    yup.. but the computer eventually rests the timing back to normal. And i didnt feel like jumping wires... etc... im done now though
     
  7. Tonyd0821

    Tonyd0821 Banned

    Messages:
    5,088
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003

    are you sure about that? i always thought once the cap was moved forward or backwards, the timing was set in stone.....

    this is how i retarded my timing on my y8 when it was boosted. used a timing gun, then fuxored with the cap a few degrees backwards (i think) and that was that.

    so what you are saying is that after a while, my timing was reset by the ecu and i was running more advanced that i had originally set ?
     
  8. rudeludenotmeanthough

    rudeludenotmeanthough Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002

    yes, unless you jumped the wires, the ECU "fixes" the timing back to stock.
     
  9. highperboi

    highperboi Senior Member

    Messages:
    971
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Location:
    Alameda, California
    i some how dont think it does that. if the ecu controled the timing so that it was always stock why do they even make the distributer in a way so a mechanic can adjust it?
     
  10. rudeludenotmeanthough

    rudeludenotmeanthough Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    in order for it to retain an adjustment, you need to jump the wires
     
  11. Tonyd0821

    Tonyd0821 Banned

    Messages:
    5,088
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003

    can you define "jumping the wires" ?

    this is new to me
     
  12. sportlinecrx

    sportlinecrx Banned

    Messages:
    6,020
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    theres a connector with two wire ends covered by a cap. you have to remove the cap and connect those wires with a "jumper" wire. this will keep the ECU from corrrecting the timing while you manually adjust it.

    whats happeneing is you are changing the BASE timing which the ECU will then use as a reference when the engine is running.
     
  13. Tonyd0821

    Tonyd0821 Banned

    Messages:
    5,088
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    interesting....

    when i took my car to a mechanic
    he too used a timing gun, then adjusted the distributor as well....

    wonder why a certified mechanic would not know any better?
     
  14. sportlinecrx

    sportlinecrx Banned

    Messages:
    6,020
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    actually, i dont know how it is on your year/model but on my crx i am supposed to jump those wires. its in the chilton manual.
     
  15. rudeludenotmeanthough

    rudeludenotmeanthough Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
  16. highperboi

    highperboi Senior Member

    Messages:
    971
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Location:
    Alameda, California
    they never did that on my 94 gsr
     
  17. tab

    tab Super Moderator

    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    46
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2003
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Washington State
    its in my manual, and the guys at Honda knew about it too, so Chilton is not making it up.
     
  18. B16

    B16 Super Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,539
    Likes Received:
    534
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    yay area, CA
    yes, jump service connector (near your ecu, in kickpanel) so your ecu does not try to correct your timing. this is when you can use your timing gun to set your base timing. your ecu will try and compensate by adjusting timing (when not jumped). if you notice the rotor inside the distributor, the metal is pretty wide, this is how many degrees the ecu can change the timing.
    and rudelude, are you trying to adjust cam timing? or ignition timing?
     
  19. rudeludenotmeanthough

    rudeludenotmeanthough Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    i was trying to adjut cam timing. but i think i need to adjust ignition timing now.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page