1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hiding IP and MAC

Discussion in 'Computers, Games, Electronics etc' started by endlesszeal, Jul 30, 2005.

  1. endlesszeal

    endlesszeal Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,670
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Is there a way to hide your IP or/and MAC addresses? If you can, while it affect your connection and stuff?

    I have SBC DSL and Im pretty sure its dynamic IP. Will hiding it make the connection slower or anything?
     
  2. adnoh

    adnoh Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,016
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Location:
    Ontario
    are you connected through a router, or just direct?
     
  3. endlesszeal

    endlesszeal Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,670
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
  4. adnoh

    adnoh Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,016
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Location:
    Ontario
    If you're through a router, your IP or Mac address is already hidden to outsiders. Using a router, you have an external IP and as many internal IP's as you have ports, delegated by the router. Meaning, the internet can see your router's IP, but cant see your actual computer's internal IP address, and can't access it directly, except if you get a trojan or similar virus that broadcasts your internal IP from the inside out.


    Does this answer your question at all?
     
  5. CRX-YEM

    CRX-YEM Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    4,623
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Wallingford, CT
    Using a router doesn't hide an IP or MAC address. your external IP is still avaliable. and most likely your mac address as most of them clone your nic when it's first hooked up. although what ever internal IP address your using like 192.168.0.6 will not be seen

    If your after hiding your IP or Mac address from server logs etc.. you really need to use a proxy server. like on in Japan or China. and yes it is quite possible that using the proxy serve will decrease your speeds dramatically.
     
  6. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    :werd:

    Set up your own proxy somewhere at a site that you never go to- run through it, and use it to mask all your identification information. I've never done it though... honest! :lol: :blink:
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page