1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

high idle ls.

Discussion in 'Integra' started by INJEN78, Apr 16, 2011.

  1. INJEN78

    INJEN78 HS LEGEND

    Messages:
    9,187
    Likes Received:
    121
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    OHIO
    heres the deal,1994 integra LS,stock b18b1,auto trans.
    when i first start the car it idles at 1900rpm,when it warms up it idles at 1300..
    ive checked.cleaned the following

    iacv-cleaned
    fitv-cleaned
    vacuum hoses-checked
    ignition timing-checked/set
    cam timing-checked/set
    fuel pressure regulator-replaced
    firing order-checked
    throttle body replaced with a good one(tps,map,etc.)

    everything is fine and within spec..i have to do a timing belt and valve adjustment because some valves are loose..but that shouldnt cause it rev high,would it??

    car has a cel for a transmission sensor but i doubt thats causing high idle..
    if i rev it up when warm it revs fine,idle will drop to 1100 then bounce right back up to 1300 and hold steady.

    what else could i check?
     
  2. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    after you did all that, did you reset the ECU? Also checked for vacuum leaks?
     
  3. CAFROG

    CAFROG Honda Minion VIP

    Messages:
    4,417
    Likes Received:
    154
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    NOR-CAL
    You can 'try' to adjust the idle.

    Get the car up to running temp and shut off
    Unplug IACV electrical connector
    Re-start car (should idle lower at this point)
    NOW and only NOW you can adjust the idle screw on the TB

    Not totally sure about auto but I am pretty sure its the same.......adjust it until the car is idling at roughly 500 rpm (this is still with the IACV unplugged).

    Once the idle is set to 500....turn car off
    Unplug back up fuse for 15-20 and plug IACV back in......see what that does
     
  4. INJEN78

    INJEN78 HS LEGEND

    Messages:
    9,187
    Likes Received:
    121
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    OHIO
    yea i did reset the ecu..still nothing.ive checked for leaks as well

    ill give it a shot.but the idle screw is underneath where the throttle rotor is and its adjusted so the throttle plate is fully closed at idle already.

    but what is the backup fuse?
     
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2011
  5. INJEN78

    INJEN78 HS LEGEND

    Messages:
    9,187
    Likes Received:
    121
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    OHIO
    ok so far i let it idle until fully warm.shut it off.pulled the plug for the iacv.started the car it idles at 1000rpm...i looked on the tb and there is a flat head adjuster near the top of the tb but i can not adjust it..it wont spin at all..so i shut the car off pulled the ecu fuse and here i am.
     
  6. CAFROG

    CAFROG Honda Minion VIP

    Messages:
    4,417
    Likes Received:
    154
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    NOR-CAL
    Yes that flat head screw on the top left of the TB......maybe throw some wd-40 on it.....but you had the right sequence and....as you can see your car was idling way too high (1000rpm's) with that IACV unplugged (I believe it should be 450 +/- 50 rpm) Try to get that big flat head screw to turn......it might be locked all the way open or closed......so try both ways after some wd-40 sits for a minute.

    Back up fuse is the fuse to re-set the ECU.....it eff's the presets on the radio and such but it also re-sets the ECU (the sequence I gave is from my Helm's Manual)
     
    1 person likes this.
  7. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    May not spin because there's "Honda-bond" on the threads.
     
  8. INJEN78

    INJEN78 HS LEGEND

    Messages:
    9,187
    Likes Received:
    121
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    OHIO
    ahok..and yea i noticed theres some kind of glue stuff on it..so im going to scrape it off and maybe try some solvent to dissinegrate the stuff..
     
  9. INJEN78

    INJEN78 HS LEGEND

    Messages:
    9,187
    Likes Received:
    121
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    OHIO
    well i cant get the idle screw to turn..so i checked and i have 2 spare tb's now the issue is..
    i have one with a tps but it doesnt have the provisions for the tb mounted map.and the other has no tps but does have the provisions for the map..
    so im wondering if i can just run a vacuum line from the nipple on the map and then run it to the manifold..
    in a sense ill have a "firewall mounted map" that way i can run the tb with the good tps.
     
  10. INJEN78

    INJEN78 HS LEGEND

    Messages:
    9,187
    Likes Received:
    121
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    OHIO
    awesome..just swapped a good tb on,,and did the "firewall mounted map"
    it idles pretty good now..got it down to 1k...so im hoping to get it down that extra 200 with ignition timing.thanx for the help..
     
  11. CAFROG

    CAFROG Honda Minion VIP

    Messages:
    4,417
    Likes Received:
    154
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    NOR-CAL
    If mechanical timing is "on" and correct.....I say you try the sequence on this other TB and see what happens.
     
  12. INJEN78

    INJEN78 HS LEGEND

    Messages:
    9,187
    Likes Received:
    121
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    OHIO
    i did try that...i could only get the idle as low as 1k with this method..
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page