high quality, high performance pistons

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

fast sol

hey bros

my first post here, basically i found this site because of an upcoming engine swap ill be doin on my 93 del sol. i bought a 1992 B18, i dont plan on running turbo anytime soon, if at all but im gonna gut out the engine and rebuild it, im a mechanic for general motors and I'm extremely mechanically inclined, im not over my head by any means with the whole rebuild and what not however i figured that i would ask on you guys who have more knowledge on the tuning aspect of these engines, i havent been on this scene long enough to know all the major piston manufacturers etc. im trying to determine what pistons to run in this engine, im looking for something pretty durable, im not too concerned with getting the absolute most horsepower if it means worrying about my engine blowing up all the time. basically jsut hit me up with some tips and advice if at all possible, any help would be appreciated, as well if anyone has done this swap before let me know of any problems you ran into, im going into this swap deal blindfolded basically but im not scared to fuss with this for a bit, i got all winter!! :) thanx

paul

if you are going to stay all motor, build for high compression.

but, that may be limited by availible octanes of gas in your area. some places get dicked with 91 as the max, where as i can get 94 anywhere, and 100 if i drive for 20 min.

in the LS, i highly recommend the JDM b16 pistons. OEM, cheap, and raise the ls to just over 11:1. thats good for a substantial boost in power.
add a good cam, and some head work!!!! the b18a's heads flow like shit!! port it out