1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

hmmmm, whats the best way to get this mount bolted down properly

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> ED-EF / DA' started by D16SiHatch, Apr 14, 2008.

  1. D16SiHatch

    D16SiHatch New Member

    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    44
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    So in the pictures you can see that because of the threads not going all the way down on that one bolt, i cant possibly tighten it down all the way.

    In order to get it tight what should i do. i've contemplated using numerous washers. but i dont really like that idea at all. Or some sort of metal dowel that i can slide over the bolt in order to cover the threads and give me something to tighten down on. of course i dont just have somethin like that lying around either.

    whats the best way to go about doin this?

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  2. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    i would use a smaller nut with a washer
     
  3. D16SiHatch

    D16SiHatch New Member

    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    44
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    how is a smaller nut going to help, if its smaller its not going to fit on the threads?
    and i cant use a different bolt cause the one on the mount is like press fitted in there. :confused:
     
  4. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    i mean a smaller nut width wise that way it will clear.same thread size just not as bulky
     
  5. D16SiHatch

    D16SiHatch New Member

    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    44
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    oh ok i see the confusion now. from the pic it looks like the nut is hitting the metal on the mount. its not though, thats just the picture that makes it look like that. the problem is theres no more thread so i cant bring the nut all the way down flat against the mount.

    [​IMG]


    see what im gettin at now ^ lol. theres no threads near the bottom of it because the original stock mount was a lot thicker then the aftermarket mount.
     
  6. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    ahh i see now, well the proper way to do it would be get another stud but i think just get a nut thats a little bigger than the stud and use it like a washer then tighten the nut that fits down.
     
  7. D16SiHatch

    D16SiHatch New Member

    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    44
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    ooh that just might work! thank you sir. ill have to go to my friends shop here sometime soon and raid his bolt bins lol
     
  8. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    it will work i had to do it on my h22a swap in my hatch
     
  9. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,579
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    why not replace it with a bolt?
     
  10. D16SiHatch

    D16SiHatch New Member

    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    44
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    hmm well upon closer inspection it does appear to be threaded into the mount. even so i dont know where i would find a bolt/stud like that?

    [​IMG]
     
  11. INJEN78

    INJEN78 HS LEGEND

    Messages:
    9,187
    Likes Received:
    121
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    OHIO
    i had to do this when i put the ls in my 91 si...
    put a couple verious sized washers on there,but on the total ottom put a lock washer,and the top a lock washer,,,or just put a bigger nut(kinda like a washer)
    it works fine
     
  12. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,579
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    fuck that.


    pull the stud, go to hardware store, find a bolt that is a hair longer than what you need, as well as the same diameter and thread pitch. get a washer to fill that depth. done.
     
  13. whiterabbit06

    whiterabbit06 Why oh why didn't I take the blue pill? VIP

    Messages:
    1,472
    Likes Received:
    312
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Location:
    Crestview, Fl
    x2
     
  14. BrokenRex

    BrokenRex New Member

    Messages:
    388
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    or just take the stud out with two smaller nuts (they lock together, then it just twists out like a bolt,) and either get a bolt that will fit into the threads like suggested. OR if the problem is that the hole/threads aren't deep enough to thread it in there properly, drill it and tap it to the next larger size and buy a bolt that fits.
     
  15. D16SiHatch

    D16SiHatch New Member

    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    44
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    well i got it taken care of. i was up at my friends shop while he was workin on his 2jz 86 poopra, and while there i took it upon myself to raid the bolt bins lol, and lucky for me i found a couple that worked :)

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page