1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Honda CIVIC VTEC

Discussion in 'Engine Building' started by chamara, Apr 3, 2009.

  1. chamara

    chamara New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Hi Guys i am having a major problem with my car. My car is checked by a professional but even he cant fix it. What happens is i changed the engine from VTEC-E to VTEC and now i taught i need a p08 since the engine is a p08. I fixed one at the experts place . What it shows is at low rpms it takes time to reach from 750rpm to 3000rpm then from there it takes off very fast. We searched everywhere to find whther this is a problem with the pump petrol but seems not to be the case.

    Thanks in advance for your help
     
  2. YBLEGAL

    YBLEGAL Regular Member w/ Cheese

    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    Check the o2 sensor, tps sensor, ignition coil, cap/rotor, crank angle sensor signal, timing.

    Your using the correct ecu now right?
     
  3. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Definitely check the O2 sensor. My brother's car did that when the O2 sensor wasn't hooked up(D15B7).

    What's happening is one of your sensors is inputting a bad reading(or no reading) during closed. Above 3000rpm, you're probably going into closed loop which ignores some of the sensor inputs(pretty much runs straight off the "maps").
     
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2009
  4. chamara

    chamara New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    O2 sensor is not there anymore

    I have checked with a chipped ECU which disabled the O2 sensor did not do the job properly. I cant get in the O2 sensor there the reason is old VTEC-E had 5 wire O2 sensor but now this new motor comes with a 1 wire O2 sensor VTEC(D15B) what can i do to get the signal inside . Can i rewire it? why does the disabling of the O2 didnt work:(

    Thank you so much for replying i an helpless
     
  5. BrokenRex

    BrokenRex New Member

    Messages:
    388
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    the engine doesn't care what O2 sensor is screwed into it's manifold. the ecu however does care what O2 is plugged into it's harness. so get the correct sensor that ecu wants and replace that 1-wire with it. then wire it up with these pin-outs.
    http://hondaswap.com/reference-materials/ecu-pinouts-28667/
     
  6. chamara

    chamara New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Do you think a chipped ecu will not do the job. I got a chipped p08 for this task in the weekend. we disabled the O2 sensor but still the car didnt show any improvements :(
     
  7. chamara

    chamara New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Can anyone help on this regrads? does the disbaleing of O2 sensoor from a chipped p08 ECU will not do the job for me? Any explanations of why is thta? since the if the bad signal is from the O2 snesor if we disable it should not look for that any more right?
     
  8. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Correct. Make sure "J1" is jumped though. I'd honestly say datalogging is your next bet or simply testing every sensor if you're not getting any CELs.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page