1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hondata OR Crome

Discussion in 'Forced Induction' started by tloc, Aug 28, 2006.

  1. tloc

    tloc New Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    I was wondering whether hondata or crome or any other ecu modifier would be better for a boosted b16. I know that both would have their advantages but i was wondering what those advantages are and what your suggestions are:?
     
  2. LateApex31

    LateApex31 New Member

    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Whatever your tuner is most comfortable with. If you are going to tune it, buy a Hondata S300 and save yourself the headaches of figuring out chips, ROM emulators, and datalogging cables.
     
  3. 10sec.hatch

    10sec.hatch Junior Member

    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    i wouldnt get either of those get a stand alone not some computer that piggy backs to a stock computer that you have to burn chips for
     
  4. Turbo&Auto

    Turbo&Auto Nick Go FAST!!

    Messages:
    3,269
    Likes Received:
    29
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Location:
    East Burg, PA!
    ^Are you for real? Chipping and tuning with Crome is like a standalone. You have control of EVERYTHING. Cold start cycle, weather change fuel multipliers, you cant ask for much more.
     
  5. formby

    formby learning in progress

    Messages:
    5,735
    Likes Received:
    23
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
  6. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    crome > s200
    but
    s300 > crome

    it really is a nice ass sytem. pricey though.
     
  7. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,580
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
  8. 10sec.hatch

    10sec.hatch Junior Member

    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    how about control boost, traction control, boost by gears, datalog hours of info and loop itself to the begining ,anti-lag and crome is not a standalone its a program designed to work with a ("FACTORY ECU") so how is that considered like a standalone? factory ecu's have boundries that are already in the program, standalones you make your own boundries it does what you tell it too.
     
  9. Turbo&Auto

    Turbo&Auto Nick Go FAST!!

    Messages:
    3,269
    Likes Received:
    29
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Location:
    East Burg, PA!
    So does Crome. It may not have all those fancy features but there's nothing about the running aspect you can't control. I have yet to see boundaries :)
     
  10. greygoose

    greygoose Junior Member

    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    I agree crome is a piggyback cause it goes in your factory ecu, but crome is a nice program. But there is no better program to me than aem, it has features that most programs don't, but it is also to me for a race car. But ame is complete and that is why it cost so much but I will say crome pro is great for people who don't have much money or your average set up. In our race cars we have aem, microtech, and haltech programs. But I have seen some cars with crome pro and hondata and they work very will especially for the price. But thats my opinion not any facts
     
  11. 10sec.hatch

    10sec.hatch Junior Member

    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    fancy options? to each their own you get what you pay for i'll take the pepsi challenge any day over a piggybacked modified stock ecu
     
  12. 10sec.hatch

    10sec.hatch Junior Member

    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    all my cars run on aem i wouldnt run anything else ive done the honcrapa and other piggybacks but once you go aem your hooked
     
  13. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,057
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    does AEM EMS allow you to tune individual cylinders?
     
  14. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    personally, i'd go with a fast speed pro before i spent that kind of money on an aem.
     
  15. 10sec.hatch

    10sec.hatch Junior Member

    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    i got my ems for 1100 with a wideband brand new in the box if you take their 2 day class the give a discount on the unit itself
     
  16. 10sec.hatch

    10sec.hatch Junior Member

    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    yep it sure does on the fuel and ignition maps
     
  17. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,057
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    i think that would be a key diffrence when looking for gobs of HP
     
  18. tloc

    tloc New Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    thx for all the feedback but i didnt mention that i still want the car to be somewhat of a daily driver car.. by this i mean i dont want to run too fast i was looking to have about 300hp... the max boost i would probably boost would be 20 psi.. and like i said that is MAX.. Im looking for something that would make my car reliable but at the same time not cost too much.... But im not trying to build a all out race car just modrate. Thats why i wasnt really considering AEM.. i already knew that it had a good system but i figured it be more for race type cars not exactly for my purposes.
     
  19. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,057
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
  20. Turbo&Auto

    Turbo&Auto Nick Go FAST!!

    Messages:
    3,269
    Likes Received:
    29
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Location:
    East Burg, PA!
    I just want to know how Crome is a piggyback. When you jumper the ECU it makes it read the Rom you install. How is that a piggyback? I'm confused.......
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page