1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

hondata v. the world

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by reikoshea, Sep 27, 2005.

  1. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Alright...so here goes...

    Yall know when im going to do something i do INSANE ammounts of research before hand. Im learning to read turbo maps (to find the absolute best turbo for my goals) and now im trying to learn how to tune, and what is best.

    Im not sure if i will have enough for a "proper tune" when i get my turbo stuff, so i am going to buy V-AFC and have intercrew do a streetable tune and a drag tune.

    So why should i go with crome or something like that when i can get hondata with datalogging and on the fly changes. Does anyone but AEM offer the same thing?
     
  2. kyleirwin

    kyleirwin Retired OG

    Messages:
    2,420
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Location:
    Vegas
    for the price of a vafc, and tuning, you can get your ecu chipped with crome and that tuned.

    crome datalogs as well, just like hondata. it also has some features hondata dosen't (autotune). aem is overkill. crome is hard to beat at the moment for the DIYer.
     
  3. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    crome > s200 by far.

    but the new s300 system is pretty bad ass. i've yet to play with it, but from what i've seen of it, i think it blows crome out of the water...

    however, neptune has a beta of their RTP board out... and word has it that craig maotes is working on one too... so its only a matter of time before the DIY world gets it all together for RTP with no chips necessary.

    but yeah, F the vafc... those things are so 2001.

    crome it up y0
     
  4. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    besides a manual p72 what do i need for crome...like the entire list...
     
  5. formby

    formby learning in progress

    Messages:
    5,735
    Likes Received:
    23
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
  6. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    yeah...been there...lookin for a cliffnotes...my lazy ass.

    I only have so much time between fighting with my girl.
     
  7. formby

    formby learning in progress

    Messages:
    5,735
    Likes Received:
    23
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    i was looking for cliff notes for TE...and never found them....i had to sit at work and read everything i could....my head still hurts
     
  8. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    you need an ecu with a socket soldered in, the software, and an ostrich romulator, and a wideband. thats about it.
     
  9. xenocron

    xenocron Member

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Location:
    Bergen Co., NJ
    Actually, Moates is making the All-in-One board for Neptune. There will be two versions, one for Neptune with encryption to protect the Neptune code (can only be used with Neptune) and then another version of the same board really for DIYers that should work with Uber, Crome, TurboEdit. Granted all of the creators add support for it when its out.

    It will be basically the same thing as S300, only, it will fit in large and small case ECUs and will work in any ECU that is already socketed (S300 does NOT work in a normally socketed ECU, it requires special pins).

    I am assuming it will work (not fit inside) in any 28 Pin type ECU (Ford, DSM..Honda, Etc) granted the proper software is mated with the hardware and it can replicate the type of chip those particular ECUs use.

    Pretty tite shit if you ask me!!

    Here's a comparison for the original poster:

    Hondata Cost
    - Hondata S300 ($595)
    - ECU ($75-150)
    - Socketing ($50-80)
    Total - $720

    Crome Cost (a typical DIY setup)
    - Software ($150)
    - Ostrich, for real time tuning ($175)
    - Datalogging cable ($30)
    - Chipped P28 ECu ($135)
    - Innovate LC-1 Wideband ($199)
    Total - $689 and that includes a WIDEBAND!!!

    Add a wideband to the S300 to tune yourself and its another $200, for less features and a product that still doesnt fully work (or so I hear on H-T).

    BTW...I have the whole Crome setup on special as a package deal for $540 shipped at this current time. Working with John Cui to eventually include Crome on an install CD with the package deal and some basemaps as well.
    :ph34r:
     
  10. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    So, would i be correct in thinking that if i purchase an ECU that already has a jun/spoon/skunk2 chip on it, i wouldnt have to do anything but replace it with my own chip?
     
  11. xenocron

    xenocron Member

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Location:
    Bergen Co., NJ
    As long as it is socketed and not soldered in.

    In my experience as well, most of those Jun, Spoon ECUs use the cheapest sockets (dual wipe) which over time and after repeat changing wear or loose contact completely...which either leaves you to resocket or toss the ECU as most times its harder to resocket an ECU rather than socketing a virgin one. most ZIF sockets dont fit very well in those dual wipe sockets either...
     
  12. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    thats cool. i just havent soldered anything but audio cables in a while...its not to hard to put the solder in the hole....
     
  13. ef9civicgen4

    ef9civicgen4 Senior Member

    Messages:
    603
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2003
    Location:
    Independence MO
    im going to avoid chome. everyone around here that uses it, there car starts fucking up. for some reason, it fucks up, and randomly changes settings.

    if you want datalogging, use a hondata. if you plan on making more then 400whp, dont be a cheap ass, but an AEM.

    an EMS in the right hands, is hands down the best. nothing on the market today, can even come close to it. it allows you to change ANY setting, it gives instant feedback from all you factory sensors, and soo much more. ive only tinkered with it a couple of times, but watching our local EMS tuner work, and to see everything it logs, and you can change, is absolutly amazing.

    *edit* just checked on the latest version of turboedit. it also has datalogging. <----that is what im going to use. but the creator is also a local to me, so that helps in my decision.
     
  14. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    wtf? sounds like complete and utter user error to me.

    aem ems is the best? lmao... right....
    and FAST speed pro sucks ass, i forgot...
     
  15. xenocron

    xenocron Member

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Location:
    Bergen Co., NJ
    The TurboEdit creator also has his own version of OBD1 tuning software. All OBD1 uses the same basic ROM stuff, they just use a different interface. I believe JParker's stuff can do either P30 or P72 stuff as well to a point. I'm not sure, I just know he uses his own software to tune 400-500+ hp cars using TurboEdit. This will hopefully be public at some point and I am positioning to get a copy myself :)

    And I wouldnt say AEM is the best. Best is WAY too subjective. All have their strong and weak points. AEM is just WAY overpriced. And yeah it has features but it almost has too many features some times it seems.

    Honestly...if you want the best, the two I have seen are Autronic and Motec, hands down.

     
  16. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Well im sorry to say that when i do go to tune my car im probably going to go with Hondata S300. Phillip at intercrew went over it with me, and it seems to be the best choice by far. He is better suited to tune with S300, and its got a lot of features that i can run in my laptop after all is said and done. Thanks for the input guys.
     
  17. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    at that point, go see st00pid at carboy at get neptuned.
     
  18. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Que? I dont get it.
     
  19. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    neptune is an EMS
    st00pid is from texas, and works at the shop car boy. he's the shit. and he tunes neptune.
     
  20. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    click...the second part is what i didnt get.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page