1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

hondata

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by S13 Slide, Oct 16, 2002.

  1. S13 Slide

    S13 Slide Junior Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2002
    ok, i've read about hondata and what it can do, but im confused on what it is. does it replace the stock ecu like the apexi power fc does? or is it a piggy back that can work as a stand alone if you have the datalogging and rom editor? please explain. thanks
     
  2. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    it is a standalone. it does not replace the stock ecu. it works with it.
    read up on it... hondata.com

    basically, they put an eeprom (electronically erasable read only memory chip - similar to a computers CMOS chip)
    from there, the hondata box talks to the ecu and makes the changes through your ecu out to the sotck harnesses- but hondata gets the readings in and then goes to the ecu.

    make more sense? i know that wasn't a good description. liek i said, go to their site-- tons of info
     
  3. S13 Slide

    S13 Slide Junior Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2002
    yeah that helps, how does it wire up to the ecu? do you spice into the ecu wires or is there a harness that plugs in? thanks
     
  4. B16

    B16 Super Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,516
    Likes Received:
    511
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    yay area, CA
    it is not completley stand alone
     
  5. pills_PMD

    pills_PMD Super Moderator

    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    New Albany, OH
    in order to install it you need to solder in a 28 pin socket, a 4 wire ribbon, a 20 pin socket, a jumper, and two capacitors and two resistors. the blue box is attatched to the ECU by the 4 wire ribbon.
     
  6. frxone

    frxone Junior Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2002
    hi,
    can someB help me, i got a few info, but still am a little confused.
    my friend started to work in local honda service, and showed me "testing computer" wich has 3 different plugs for different ver. of obd.

    1. my civic is 1.5 dx '93, and he told me that only thing i could do to check what signals my obd is receiving is to short connect 2 pins on connector, and light on the board will flash (error codes).

    2. i am wondering is it possible to dl hondata software, and check pinout of "test comp.", make the cable, and connect it to ecu, without shopping from hondata hardware.

    tnx,

    bye F.
     
  7. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    227
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    1. Yes, the error codes can be checked by jumping the 2 pin diagnostic connector located above the passenger side foot well.

    2. No- Hondata's software interfaces to the computer via proprietary Hondata interface boxes... so unless you were able to replicate that, I doubt you could get it to talk.
     
  8. frxone

    frxone Junior Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2002

    tnx, for answers,
    under question 1, is it the only way to test values (with 2 pin) or it can be connected with "testing computer"?

    bye F.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page