1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hondata

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by HondaMan_2002, Feb 27, 2003.

  1. HondaMan_2002

    HondaMan_2002 Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2002
    How does it exactly work?

    And what is the best system?
     
  2. NoJokE

    NoJokE Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Hondata Check that out and it'll answer a lot of your questions
     
  3. HondaMan_2002

    HondaMan_2002 Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2002
    So I would need an obd1 ECU to use a hondata system?
     
  4. NoJokE

    NoJokE Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    yea OBDII is harder to crack and they havent succeeded, so swapping in an OBD I is the only way to use a Hondata system
     
  5. dohcvtec_accord

    dohcvtec_accord WRX Sellout

    Messages:
    8,433
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    The left lane
    I could be wrong, but didn't Hondata just announce compliance with OBD2 systems?
     
  6. NoJokE

    NoJokE Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003

    Really? I havent checked the site in a while, i've decided to get AEM EMS
     
  7. HondaMan_2002

    HondaMan_2002 Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2002
    So what would be the best ECU to get if I am geting a B18C1 that is OBD2?
     
  8. dohcvtec_accord

    dohcvtec_accord WRX Sellout

    Messages:
    8,433
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    The left lane

    Yeah, I've got a GReddy Emanage system that's waiting to be installed.

    I swear someone posted something in the Anything Goes forum a few weeks ago about Hondata's new S200 system being able to be used with OBD2 ECU's. Or it's just over the horizon.
     
  9. NoJokE

    NoJokE Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    just checked the site, yeah it seems that they made OBDII plugs for OBDI ecus to plug into OBDII cars
     
  10. NoJokE

    NoJokE Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003

    P72, thats a GSR's OBDI ecu, that would be perfect
     
  11. HondaMan_2002

    HondaMan_2002 Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2002
    So I would have to buy the OBD1 ECU and the Adapter to make it work with my new engine?
     
  12. BlackJDMdeath

    BlackJDMdeath Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Wichita, KS
    yea... pretty much, but its worth it, im getting my s200 put in the lude in a couple weeks :)
     
  13. 2 litre EG

    2 litre EG Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2002
    Location:
    so cali
    are you going all motor? if so and you dont have money to get a hondata tuned then stick with an Ericks racing tuned ECU.... i do believe he is the number one ECU tuner right now, and he is also certified by Doug Macmillan [owner and creator of HONDATA] to tune hondata...

    it all depends on what you want, dont get the hondata just to say, "i have hondata..." make sure you get it cause you need it. and remember once you get the hondata get it tuned properly by someone experienced
     
  14. BlackJDMdeath

    BlackJDMdeath Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Wichita, KS
    the dealer im getting it from is tuning it for me, believe me i need it lol... im running a p28 ecu on an h22a, lean much? yea. IMO hondata is also a good deal because of all the options for it and the things you get with it, like shift light and REAL vtec controller that changes the fuel maps with the crossover point.
     
  15. pills_PMD

    pills_PMD Super Moderator

    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    New Albany, OH
    hondata does not automatically change your fuel/ignition maps when you adjust the VTEC crossover using the pushbutton, nor if you change it in romeditor. you have to adjust manually if you want to.

    i just spent like 4 hours playing around with romeditor and pocket programmer trying to get ready for tuesdays dyno appt.
     
  16. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home

    what are you doing about the IAB's?

    you are loosing a shit load of power if you haven't:
    a- activated them via p13 or p72 that controls it
    b- removed it by swapping to an intake mani that doesn't have iab's
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page