1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HOT new engine

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by jdm4me, Jan 31, 2011.

  1. jdm4me

    jdm4me New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    I have a si block with a gsr head complete engine and i was wondering what ecu can be used with the engine?
     
  2. Matts96HB

    Matts96HB . Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    6,482
    Likes Received:
    389
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Best bet is going to be a chipped obd1 ecu, and have someone tune it
     
  3. jdm4me

    jdm4me New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    I have a p28 ecu would that work?
     
  4. hondafreak513

    hondafreak513 New Member

    Messages:
    2,053
    Likes Received:
    46
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Location:
    O hi O
    Yep just get it chipped and tuned, for your motor..
     
  5. jdm4me

    jdm4me New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    ok well the ecu is chipped already and was wondering what car would be the fastest to do the swap in and cheapest? noob sorry
     
  6. hondafreak513

    hondafreak513 New Member

    Messages:
    2,053
    Likes Received:
    46
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Location:
    O hi O
    Which ever kind of car you like... 92-00 are the easiest to do motor swaps.
     
  7. jdm4me

    jdm4me New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    so if i get a civic hatchback what else would i need for the sawp
     
  8. Matts96HB

    Matts96HB . Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    6,482
    Likes Received:
    389
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    complete engine, transmission, a couple mounts, shift linkage from an integra, possibly a throttle cable from an integra, and youre going to need to do a little wiring.
     
  9. jdm4me

    jdm4me New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    i have the enigine ls tranny the mounts that came with the motor and the other stuff wont be that hard to find and motor comes with the wire harness
     
  10. Matts96HB

    Matts96HB . Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    6,482
    Likes Received:
    389
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    you dont necessarily need the harness. only a few modifications have to be done to a stock civic harness to make it compatible with a VTEC engine. and if youre lucky enough to get an EX with the stock harness, you shouldnt have to mess with any of the wiring
     
  11. KoloJak11

    KoloJak11 New Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    I would go with an eg hatch, I like them the best. I drive a prelude tho
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page