1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How do I code a 96 Accord radio - I have the codes

Discussion in 'Car Audio / Security / Electronic Accessories' started by FriendshipUSA, Feb 21, 2009.

  1. FriendshipUSA

    FriendshipUSA New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I need some help in a simple question not addressed in the owner's manual. How do I recode my 1996 Honda Accord radio. I do have the codes. I tried all the radio buttons but nothing seems to work. Do I need to reset the radio, i.e. pull the radio fuse and put it back it?

    Thanks in advance.
  2. George777

    George777 ^^ Likes Bewbies

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Messages:
    2,917
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    With your mom
    Are you saying that you aren't getting any power to the radio?
  3. phyregod

    phyregod !!YTINASNI

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2005
    Messages:
    9,397
    Media:
    2
    Likes Received:
    213
    Location:
    Central Texas
    Turn the key to "on" then, turn the radio on. The radio should display "code" on the screen. Using the numbered radio station buttons, enter your code. As soon as you hit the last number of your code, the radio will unlock and switch to radio mode.

    If it doesn't read "code" with the ignition and radio turned on, you have other problems.
  4. FriendshipUSA

    FriendshipUSA New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,
    Thanks for the information. I entered the code as describe but the "code" is still present. Am I missing a step?
  5. George777

    George777 ^^ Likes Bewbies

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Messages:
    2,917
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    With your mom
  6. FriendshipUSA

    FriendshipUSA New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi

    The car has the original radio and in the glove box I have the cards for the radio stating the serial number and code. I can pull the radio an double check the serial number later today.
  7. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Messages:
    21,652
    Media:
    3
    Likes Received:
    308
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    diconnect the battery then reconnect it.. re-enter code when prompted
  8. phyregod

    phyregod !!YTINASNI

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2005
    Messages:
    9,397
    Media:
    2
    Likes Received:
    213
    Location:
    Central Texas
    ^^ Worth a shot

    Its also worth noting that if you enter an incorrect code 3 times in a row, the system will go into lock-out for an hour. There is no bypass for this.
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2009
  9. FriendshipUSA

    FriendshipUSA New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    It worked! thanks for the help! There is a trick though. The first time I disconnected the battery, waited about 30 seconds, then reconnected the battery. I then turned on the car and the radio. After the "code" appeared and the 5 digit code was put in. The radio did not work. The "code" still appeared. The second time I disconnect the battery, waited 30 minutes, then I turned on the car and the radio (all this was done when the battery was disconnected). I then turned off the radio and car's ignition. After the battery was reconnected the ignition and radio were turned on. After the "code" appeared the 5 digit code was added. It worked!

    I believe the radio stores some memory when it is off after the battery was disconnected. To clear this the radio needed to be turned ON with the battery disconnected. (just a guess) Anyway, it is working now.

Share This Page