1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

how does hondata work

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by spededdy, Apr 16, 2011.

  1. spededdy

    spededdy New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    I have a 1992 civic hatch supposably its got a p28 ecu chipped, was told tuned on chrome, i have no idea how to tune, i need to get it tuned casue its running rich and i wanna make sure tuned right, i was looking at the hondata systems, what would i need for something like that? what hondata, is hondata just plug in play and tunes itself? thanks
     
  2. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,453
    Likes Received:
    2,117
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    crome is basically the 'open source' version of hondata (s200 system at least). They both run on the concept of chipped ecus. The hondata box is mostly for datalogging more than anything.

    Nothing tunes it self. If you don't know what you're doing, your better off going to a shop that dyno tunes and has stuff for hondas like crome or hondata for you to buy and tune right there.
     
  3. spededdy

    spededdy New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    ok, how do they hook it up, do i need special cord for my chrome or anything?
     
  4. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,453
    Likes Received:
    2,117
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    yes, you'll need a romulator to due to the tune (ostrich is popular) and a chip burner to burn the final map (burn1 is popular) and of course you'll need to have the socketed ecu (which it sounds like you already have). moates.net has those items.

    You'll also need a wideband and the program to tune it on your latptop and knowledge of what you're going so you don't blow the car up.
     
  5. wikedeye

    wikedeye Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,772
    Likes Received:
    57
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Location:
    Savannah, Ga.
    Couldn't he just take it to a reputable shop and they would have the equipment required to do the tune for him.
     
  6. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    :werd: If you don't really know what you're doing or is going to have someone else do the tune, a shop should be able to do everything for you.
     
  7. mtber

    mtber Junior Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2005
  8. GlassHeadlights

    GlassHeadlights West West Yall

    Messages:
    4,066
    Likes Received:
    71
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    BUT with a chipped ECU on Crome and some datalogging tools, a wideband and knowledge one could tune a car better than stock?
     
  9. mtber

    mtber Junior Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2005
    This depends on the application.
    Lets say some one has a completely stock d16y8 1997 civic ex with no modifications, the stock ecu does a very good job, however if the person added headers/intake/exhaust and tuned the car using a tunable ecu they would yield better results then the stock ecu.

    As an end user, by the time you buy the hardware to tune a car on crome with, you would be much better off with a better software solution like Hondata S300 or Neptune RTP etc.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page