1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to correctly move 02 sensor?

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> ED-EF / DA' started by wagovanb16man, Dec 17, 2007.

  1. wagovanb16man

    wagovanb16man i

    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Alright I finally found a header that has two 02 sensors, one of them is on the header, and one is on the down pipe near the cat. I was wondering how to move the 02 sensor down by the cat, and which one I should move.

    Should I move the 02 sensor with the green plug or the 02 sensor with the yellowish/clearish plug?

    How do I go about doing that? Standard wire connected to the 02 wire?
     
  2. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    first what car do you have with what motor in it.
     
  3. wagovanb16man

    wagovanb16man i

    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Location:
    Tennessee
    It's in the signature, but oh well..

    90 Civic Wagon, JDM B16a, OBD-0..
     
  4. B16RacerN2NR

    B16RacerN2NR Working Hard VIP

    Messages:
    6,148
    Likes Received:
    99
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Location:
    Moving back West...
    You can't have one at the down pipe... it'll run kinda like shit

    Tech - Closed Loop scroll down to wear it says pre-obd engines.
     
  5. Citizen_Insane

    Citizen_Insane Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,698
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    You have to have one O2 monitoring cylinders 1&2, the other monitoring 3&4. You'll need a 4-2-1 header with an O2 at each secondary if you want to run it as stock.
     
  6. wagovanb16man

    wagovanb16man i

    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Location:
    Tennessee
    [​IMG]

    Well, only one 02 sensor monitors the #1 cylinder..
    This is like this on all aftermarket headers..

    Even if I relocate the 02 bung to the #2 cylinder, it still wouldn't monitor 2and3..

    The only way to have them monitor 1and 2, or 3 and 4 is weld bungs on the downpipe before it goes into 1.

    Any input?
     
  7. 91_civic_si

    91_civic_si New Member

    Messages:
    657
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    Wasilla, Alaska
    I got lucky and got a original rsr from hmotors last week that is made for the obd0 b16. Only cost 180 shipped to Alaska.
     
  8. invisibledemon

    invisibledemon Bored Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    7,402
    Likes Received:
    626
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Location:
    Tn
    take it to an exhaust shop and have another bung welded into the 2nd cylinder.

    problem solved.
     
  9. wagovanb16man

    wagovanb16man i

    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Location:
    Tennessee
    I could do that but exhaust shops are expensive.. I've been thinking about taking a nut that matches the threads of the 02 sensor and welding it to the piping and then drilling the hole.. Would that work?

    Would it work if I moved both 02 sensors to the downpipe before it goes into 1? I think that would look a lot cleaner especially if I got a header with now 02 bungs..
     
  10. invisibledemon

    invisibledemon Bored Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    7,402
    Likes Received:
    626
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Location:
    Tn
    if an exhaust shop trys to charge more than 30 to do that. then they should be stabbed in the eye with a rusty hanger.

    whats 20 or 30 bucks to have it done correctly?
    what part of tn are you in?
     
  11. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    if you have two o2 sensors and the header has two bungs then whats the problem
     
  12. invisibledemon

    invisibledemon Bored Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    7,402
    Likes Received:
    626
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Location:
    Tn
    obd0. its not a primary and secondary.
    one runs 2 cylinders and the other runs the other two.
    if he put one in each bung that he currently has, one will read correctly while the second is reading for all four cylinders.
     
  13. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    got ya...yea just go have it done at a muffler shop
     
  14. invisibledemon

    invisibledemon Bored Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    7,402
    Likes Received:
    626
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Location:
    Tn
    or buy a different header --- pretty pricey
    convert to obd1- ----------- pretty pricey
    go to a muffler shop------- cheapest way to do it correctly.
     
  15. wagovanb16man

    wagovanb16man i

    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Correct. But the way the 4-2-1 header is designed there is no way to monitor two cylinders at one time. Only one.

    Only way I see to do it is have the 02 sensors at the downpipe before is goes into one pipe.

    It seems like it would work like stock, just slightly different..

    But I would have to add wire to my O2 sensors, can I do that like any other wire? Just solder it in?

    I'm in west TN, Lexington to be exact.. About 1-2 hours from Nashville, depending on what part you are going to.
     
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2007
  16. HATCHET_HONDA

    HATCHET_HONDA scottie fizzle

    Messages:
    764
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Location:
    hobart, indiana
    hmmm...i wasnt aware a b16 has 2 o2 sensors..obd0? my p28 is obd1 and i only have one o2..learn somethin new everday i guess
     
  17. wagovanb16man

    wagovanb16man i

    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Yeah but OBD-1 has a 4-wire 02 sensor..

    Though I think it's only B16s that have two 02 sensors. The OBD-0 D series have 1 02 sensor.
     
  18. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,448
    Likes Received:
    2,110
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    you got a header for a 99 civic si basically. it's not going to work.

    this is what you want:



    1/4 and 2/3 wired to the right port on the ecu.

    1/2 & 3/4 as stated above is WRONG
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Dec 18, 2007
  19. wagovanb16man

    wagovanb16man i

    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Location:
    Tennessee
    I didn't order that one I posted, it was just a reference.

    That looks like a stock header.

    As I said before, I think if I put the 02 sensors where the downpipe meet the header before it goes into one, I think it would work.
     
  20. 91_civic_si

    91_civic_si New Member

    Messages:
    657
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    Wasilla, Alaska
    Not trying to talk bad but you should get the appropriate header and weld the bungs on correctly or just keep your eye out for a used rsr obd0 b16 header. If you keep looking on hmotors then you might see one within 3 or 4 months.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page