1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

how to: datalog with a wideband connected to your emanage

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by TurboMirage, Aug 9, 2008.

  1. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,582
    Likes Received:
    697
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    this is assumed that you already have a wideband sensor installed with a 0-5v output, and an emanage running 1.49. you also need to find and download emanage alpha tool AND make sure you have MS framework 1.1 to run it, otherwise it wont open.

    oksy so i'm using the NGK powerdex wideband. it has two wires, yellow (signal) and black (ground) i had to extend the wires (solder and shrink tube!) to meet up with the emanage.

    now instead of buying the boost cable to plug into the emanage, we will make our own.

    find an old desktop computer (or ask someone) and locate the floppy drive power plug. its a 4-pin plug. cut it about 3 inches from the white plug. once that is done, use a knife and trim off the 4th pin (red) and then trim the front and sides down flat. be sure to not trim everything off the front since the plastic holds the metal pins into the plug.

    clip off the middle black wire. you will be left with a yellow and black wire.

    this is the result.
    [​IMG]

    now you can wire, yellow to yellow.... black to black. i used the same color wire to extend the output from the wideband.
    [​IMG]

    fits like a charm.
    [​IMG]


    you cannot have support tool and alpha tool open at the same time.

    in support tool -
    to do real time display, make sure you set in parameters to read greddy pr, and i used 9-16 (i think) for the numbers next to that. now you can open up greddy pressure sensor as a log, but its not converted from a voltage to a ratio. this is where the alpha tool comes in.

    in alpha tool -
    make sure you set and save your settings. you want to set the COM port, use boost plug, and your values. 0-5v for voltage, 9-16 for range (this is for the NGK) check other settings as you want them and save/close.

    connect to unit.

    open the logger. you have to press START for anything to work. set your throttle percentage threshhold. it will log from that TP up. make your run. you can open the graph or save the data after that.

    the best part about the alpha tool is that it will convert the voltage to the required AF values you need ;) 8)
     
  2. awptickes

    awptickes unimpressed by you VIP

    Messages:
    9,279
    Likes Received:
    500
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    MD
    Nice info. I thought that connector looked the same as the floppy-drive power cable.
     
  3. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,582
    Likes Received:
    697
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    it is. who the fuck wants to spend money? :)
     
  4. c0V3Ro

    c0V3Ro New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    it didn't work for me :(
    e-blue, all 1.49, giff-tech usb cable, winXP sp3, innovate w02.
    civic exs 97 d16y8 swapped at to mt.
     
  5. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,582
    Likes Received:
    697
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    check your WB>emanage connection. plenty of mirageforum members use my how-to with innovate widebands.
     
  6. c0V3Ro

    c0V3Ro New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    my lc-1 got dead!:mad:
    will try to rma it.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page