1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to detect obd1 PR3 error codes?

Discussion in 'Civic and CRX - EF' started by gatto-is-alive, Jun 19, 2008.

  1. gatto-is-alive

    gatto-is-alive New Member

    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Location:
    EARTH
    I have a 91 hatch and just swaped in b16 i have no spark coming out of the ignition so i wish to see if the ecu is giving any code but it no how to detect the codes.
    If anybody nows how pls help b'cos i'm going crazy about it!!:confused:
     
  2. YBLEGAL

    YBLEGAL Regular Member w/ Cheese

    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    NW Indiana
  3. gatto-is-alive

    gatto-is-alive New Member

    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Location:
    EARTH
    which wire i have to check? Do you know the colour of the wire and how much volts should be delivering to the dizzy?
     
  4. YBLEGAL

    YBLEGAL Regular Member w/ Cheese

    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    Normally it's a black/yellow wire. It's the thicker of the wires going to the dizzy. Lmk if that helps.
     
  5. gatto-is-alive

    gatto-is-alive New Member

    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Location:
    EARTH
    I have two plug both rectengular shaped one of them has many wires and the other just two i think one of those two wires is the one that you just mesioned. if it is that the wire i checked it and there is supply in it it's about 11.9volt on the meter. But still the spark isn't there!
     
  6. gatto-is-alive

    gatto-is-alive New Member

    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Location:
    EARTH
    how can i check if the ecu is throwing any codes??
     
  7. jlicrx

    jlicrx Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,891
    Likes Received:
    65
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    you need to jumper the ignition timing service connector which will cause the Check Engine Light to flash and then just count the flashes
     
  8. gatto-is-alive

    gatto-is-alive New Member

    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Location:
    EARTH
    is this connector inside the ecu or out side?
     
  9. jlicrx

    jlicrx Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,891
    Likes Received:
    65
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    connector should be on the passenger side kick panel up next to the bottom of the dash - has 2-wires, brown and green/white - comes from the factory with yellow rubber plug in it - it is the connector that you jumper to set the ignition timing
     
  10. YBLEGAL

    YBLEGAL Regular Member w/ Cheese

    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    Read my link; it has ALL the info for checking the codes.
     
  11. gatto-is-alive

    gatto-is-alive New Member

    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Location:
    EARTH
    My civic is rhd ,should this plug be at the passengers side or still on the right side of the car?
     
  12. gatto-is-alive

    gatto-is-alive New Member

    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Location:
    EARTH
    pls i need help i can't find that plug .The only plug with two wires and unpluged that i found has a brown wire and a light blue wire .
    And an other thing pls note that i have a full integra da6 93' harness fitted in my civic b cos i replaced the full loom of the car from front to rear and that is the problem of the wiring colours that i cant match with any wiring that i ve downloaded.
     
  13. BrokenRex

    BrokenRex New Member

    Messages:
    388
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    being obd0 from the factory, his car wont have the wiring to jump that plug, because his old ecu didn't need it. the codes were displayed right on the ecu. what you'll need to do is find a wiring diagram of a vehicle with a pr3 ecu and find out where that jumper harness connects to. trace it back to the ecu and jump the connectors with a piece of wire. hope that is correct, let us know what you find out.
     
  14. YBLEGAL

    YBLEGAL Regular Member w/ Cheese

    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    Well, for an OBD1 ecu, D04 should be the service check signal connector that you need to ground out and A13 will send out voltage pulses, and if it's not connected to your check engine light in the dash, you'll need to monitor in some way.

    D04 -> ground
    A13 -> check engine light (may need to connect an led or voltmeter)
     
  15. jlicrx

    jlicrx Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,891
    Likes Received:
    65
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    93 Integra harness should have the jumper connector up under the dash next to the blower motor
     
  16. YBLEGAL

    YBLEGAL Regular Member w/ Cheese

    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    That's what I was thinking too....but if you just go with the pinouts, there's deffinatly no confusion...lhd or rhd, etc.
     
  17. kevins39564

    kevins39564 Eric Cartman 4 President!

    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    I had a 91 with obd-0, I got blind sided by suburban, i kept the whole ls motor runnin perfect and LS Trani! .Now I have an 92 with obd-1 that i just put a clean rebuilt head on just to get it on running while i build this LS block to handle 600+hp @ high boost..

    I kept the ECU from the OBD 0 91 TEG and it was the style wich the sight hole on the top of th ECU, you jumper that connector with the 2 wires man, its the only 2 connector under the dash thats not pluged in by the blower motor.. at most you may have to pull the passanger side kick panel off and pull the carpet up to see if it has a sight hole on the top..Thats how my 91 is for sure, only real difference is they changed from obd0 / obd1 to the dash service engine light blinking the codes instead of the Light in the sight hole (thats what the manuals claim) BUT your running a harness and ecu from a 93, its more than likely obd-1 (OBD-1 Came to the states in 92).... no matter if theres no sight hole, then the dash should blink when you turn your engine in the on posision may have to turn it on off on off on N try that..

    I checked mine not even 2 weeks ago when got it for the body thend dropped that head on.. Just a tempory car, I have a CRX Comin from kentucky This integra body is an auto with all kinda different motor mounts between auto and 5spd strangly(The actual frame and body is differnt factor.. gotta cut and weld in the center consol to make it a 5spd, 220,000miles not worth the effort on the 91-93 style body..Thats why I got a crx coming, 500lbs lighter give or take, Drop an ls/v in there and call it a day until the Big boost motor is ready for it.. Good year or 2 cause its gonna be an easy 15-18 grand under the hood..
     
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2008
  18. jlicrx

    jlicrx Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,891
    Likes Received:
    65
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    that is correct
     
  19. YBLEGAL

    YBLEGAL Regular Member w/ Cheese

    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    :wtf:
     
  20. kevins39564

    kevins39564 Eric Cartman 4 President!

    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    I mean come on seriously, if the guy cant figure it out after what everyone else said, and its not even something anyone would need help with especially if the put the whole harness in his self.. Maybe if i spelled it out for him he'd get it.. myy bbaaadd on the Huge Long post...
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page