1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to set the odometer?

Discussion in 'General Tech and Maintenance' started by Tein, Mar 8, 2009.

  1. Tein

    Tein So much with a little D

    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Location:
    Kissimmee, FL
    I purchase a 5 speed cluster and would like to know if someone knows how to set the odometer to a different mileage?
    Any info would help...

    Thanks
     
  2. Magana559

    Magana559 The Warden

    Messages:
    2,568
    Likes Received:
    42
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Location:
    fresno Ca
    why would you want to do that?
     
  3. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    thats illegal..
     
  4. Tein

    Tein So much with a little D

    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Location:
    Kissimmee, FL
    Well, If I made a 5 speed conversion and swap my cluster I would like to have the same mileage that my auto has... I DON'T SEE HOW THAT CAN BE ILEGAL...
     
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2009
  5. Slow&Delirious

    Slow&Delirious isn't fast or furious

    Messages:
    548
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Location:
    Boonville NC
    new ones are tamper proof

    you could put the car on blocks and run it in reverse for a while, j/k
     
  6. MthaFuknGreen

    MthaFuknGreen Green on the scene.

    Messages:
    3,166
    Likes Received:
    32
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Lodi, CA
    its automotive fraud.
    its prohibited for resale purposes.
    but im sure you could somehow crack it open and roll the numbers back.
    there has to be someway, because you have to have it re calibrated if you make a large rim size jump.
     
  7. 97hatch

    97hatch ?

    Messages:
    1,695
    Likes Received:
    20
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Location:
    Anderson IN
    your best bet is to just swap out the center section of the cluster with the odometer its like 3 screws holding it in and then you still have your stock speedo
     
  8. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Going in reverse would be counterproductive; as it'll still count it(the speedometer works by counting the pulses from the VSS). :)

    There was a thread on HT I believe that explained how to do it. I'm not sure though, as this was like back in 2003 when I saw it.
     
  9. MthaFuknGreen

    MthaFuknGreen Green on the scene.

    Messages:
    3,166
    Likes Received:
    32
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Lodi, CA
    well i think he just wants to have the miles on his engine on the odo instead of however many miles that the car he got the cluster from had..
     
  10. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    If it's less than what the car originally had, I'm sure the DMV/DOT would flag it during inspections. Over here if the car is old enough(like my 88 Honda), they don't even pay attention to the odometer. I just tell them that the gauge cluster has been swapped(94-95 GSR gauge cluster).
     
  11. MthaFuknGreen

    MthaFuknGreen Green on the scene.

    Messages:
    3,166
    Likes Received:
    32
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Lodi, CA
    i dont really see the point.. i mean you dont have to roll the numbers back physically just to make it seem like the car has less miles.. you can just replace the cluster.
     
  12. cjvictoria

    cjvictoria New Member

    Messages:
    2,525
    Likes Received:
    42
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Location:
    N. Chuck, SC
    and what? say its a newer engine? lol the dmv would see there's less miles than the last time they read it and you could be in a world of shit. i suggest taking the original speedp readout panel and find a way to make it fit in with your new speedo.
     
  13. MthaFuknGreen

    MthaFuknGreen Green on the scene.

    Messages:
    3,166
    Likes Received:
    32
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Lodi, CA
    its like the same thing with the vin on the dash..
    people swap their dashes, people swap their clusters.
    we try to make it right by swapping the things that are suppose to be there, i.e. vin and odo numbers and they take legal action.
     
  14. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    As long as you're honest about what was done, the chances of legal action is very slim(fraud).

    As stated before, as far as the VIN goes, here in NC they don't even care about the mileage since it's an older car and there's an option when transferring titles that states whether or not those are the original miles. My current car, my old Accord, and my old CRX, all displayed incorrect mileage due to various reasons.
     
  15. MthaFuknGreen

    MthaFuknGreen Green on the scene.

    Messages:
    3,166
    Likes Received:
    32
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Lodi, CA
    out here in cali, the government gets surrious.
     
  16. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,451
    Likes Received:
    2,110
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    The 100% legal way for changing out a dash is to document the current reading, drive to the dmv in some other car. obtain a sticker from the dmv documenting the cluster swap and the mileage difference. put new cluster in and make a note of the mileage of the new cluster as well so math can be done to determine true mileage.

    failure to do this will result in a 'true mileage unknown' clause added to the title of the vehicle... especially if the new cluster has fewer miles than the one getting taken out.
     
  17. phyregod

    phyregod !!YTINASNI

    Messages:
    9,449
    Likes Received:
    225
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2005
    Location:
    Central Texas
    I had a left over civic cluster and changed the mileage to 0, and put it back together successfully. But there are pieces that are melted into place and not removeable by standard tools, you have to cut them out and re-melt them back into place. Of course, I tossed that cluster in the trash after I was done becase 1: Its illegal, and 2: The cluster had no tach, so it was worthless anyway. I was just seeing if I could do it.

    But for an odometer that is going into an actual car, just leave it and write "exempt" on the title under mileage.. Or whatever your state requires for such things. If the cluster is higher mileage, snap a pic of the old one, then the new one, and save it to proove to your future buyer that the mileage really is lower than stated.
     
  18. MthaFuknGreen

    MthaFuknGreen Green on the scene.

    Messages:
    3,166
    Likes Received:
    32
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Lodi, CA
    you shouldve tested it out to see if itd work.
     
  19. Slow&Delirious

    Slow&Delirious isn't fast or furious

    Messages:
    548
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Location:
    Boonville NC
    i wouldnt worry about it, if something happens and someone says something just plead ignorance. Im from NC too, and milage only comes up when buying/selling.

    good luck
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page