1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

how to wire vtec?

Discussion in 'Civic and del Sol - EG and EK' started by ernestoexpresso, Jun 29, 2010.

  1. ernestoexpresso

    ernestoexpresso New Member

    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    i did a mini me on my d15b7 i was wondering how do i wire the vtec on it? also my car is a manuel but but my ecu is automatic is that gonna affect anything?
     
  2. civic94cpe23

    civic94cpe23 New Member

    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Its pretty simple... I wen't ahead and grabbed the link youll need for wiring in vtec.

    next time try using the search function might save you a little bit of time.

    http://hondaswap.com/general-tech-articles/how-wire-vtec-40811/


    Yes the auto ECU will throw check engine lights. You can convert the p28 AUTO ecu to a Manual ECU if u have some simple soldering skills.


    Open up the ecu and locate RP17 and R18. Remove the resistors or what ever they call them and then solder a piece of wire across RP18. So there will be nothing in RP17 and the wire would be across RP18.

    Myself instead of using wire i'd goto radio shack and grab a 0 ohm transistor and cut the leg off of it and use that instead..

    If what I said is kinda confusing just search google for p28 auto to manual.


    Oh and heres another link explaining it a little better.
    http://hondaswap.com/ecus-electronics-tuning/pics-your-auto-p28-manual-49537/

    search function is your friend. :)

    Good luck
     
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2010
    1 person likes this.
  3. ernestoexpresso

    ernestoexpresso New Member

    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    so do i have to convert it or will it be ok for now?
     
  4. civic94cpe23

    civic94cpe23 New Member

    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010

    Might as well convert it. It will throw some codes and may do other shit. not sure I converted mine..... Should take less then 5 minutes to convert the ECU.
     
  5. ernestoexpresso

    ernestoexpresso New Member

    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page