How's this sound system?

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

Boondock Saint DX

Alpine 9851 Head Unit
Infinity 6.5 Component System in Front or just speakers with tweeters
Infinity 6.5 Reference Multi-Element Speakers in Rear
Infinity 520 Watt 4-Channel Amp
Can't get woofers...need the trunk space (95 dx hatchback)

I'm pretty new to sound systems and have some questions-

Wouldn't getting a component system be dumb if i were getting an amp?

What's a basslink?

lol, i don't see the point in 560 watts of treble, maybe that's what he meant^
:)
Don't overpay for anything tho!

Originally posted by Boondock Saint DX+Sep 25 2005, 09:44 PM-->
Alpine 9851 Head Unit
Infinity 6.5 Component System in Front or just speakers with tweeters
Infinity 6.5 Reference Multi-Element Speakers in Rear
Infinity 560 Watt 6-Channel Amp
Can't get woofers...need the trunk space (95 dx hatchback)
[post=560305]Quoted post[/post]​
Well, you dont need a 6 channel, just get a 4 channel.

Boondock Saint DX
@Sep 25 2005, 09:44 PM
I'm pretty new to sound systems and have some questions-

Wouldn't getting a component system be dumb if i were getting an amp?

What's a basslink?
[post=560305]Quoted post[/post]​

It's dumb to get a component set and not get an amp, this ensures you get a good amount of power to them. (don't over power, underpowering is bullstink, its because they aren't as efficient=quiter off HU power than stock)

A basslink is an integrated subwoofer and amplifier. You could just buy the basslink, hook it up, and thump away. Neat little (.75 cu ft) all-in-one sub.

everything looks good
the amp isnt really needed, but it will allow for future setups

for the rear speakers i personally would just go with a 6.5 woofer, no tweeters... it makes the immaging MUCH better when the highs are only comming from in front of you

a component set up front is definatly the way to go