1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hybrid swap?

Discussion in 'General Tech and Maintenance' started by Periculum, Mar 3, 2005.

  1. Periculum

    Periculum Senior Member

    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Location:
    Martinez, GA
    I know this may sound stupid to a lot of you who are into swapping for performance, but I my CRX is for pizza delivery and the higher the MPG, the more money I make.

    I was just curious if anyone has every done a hybrid swap (the insight 1l?) into an older car, or if it was even possible, since there are surely plenty more systems in the newer car. Just curious, I think it would be awesome to have a 60 MPG CRX.
     
  2. 92civicb18b1

    92civicb18b1 The Trisexual

    Messages:
    8,859
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Location:
    The asshole of the USA, New Jersey
    its not worth it, put a VX or Cx in it and try to be happy with the 40+ MPG.

    Really, i'm not trying to be a dick, it would not be worth the money you'd spend.
     
  3. b204dr

    b204dr Senior Member

    Messages:
    915
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    Minnesota
    bingo cx - unless swapping out into fuel injected from carbed no fun!
     
  4. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX


    Don't bother... the labor and amount of electronics and other crap you would have to stuff into the CRX would end up costing you more than a used Insight. You can pick one up for about $8000-9000 these days.

    If you want to save gas, drop in an HF transmission, then make sure you're running MPFI and tune with TurboEdit to get your air/fuel ratios up to 14.7:1 at partial throttle and cruise, and 13.5:1 at full throttle. That will help you save gas.
     
  5. Periculum

    Periculum Senior Member

    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Location:
    Martinez, GA
    Im assuiming that Turbo edit is programming software for the civic?
     
  6. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    i dont think turbo edit will work with the insight system.

    you can swap in a jdm obdII d15b vtec. it might cost a little much but from what i hear people have got around 55MPG with it; mainly because it uses a 3 stage vtec that incorporates VTEC-E.
     
  7. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    Yeah, you won't be able to use TurboEdit with the Insight's ECU. I was saying that you could use TurboEdit to lean out and fine tune another non-OBD engine's ECU to get better mileage.
     
  8. MikeBergy

    MikeBergy Blah blah blah....

    Messages:
    3,646
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Location:
    Central Coast, CALI


    Did you get the whole obd0 TurboEdit idea form me? I distinctly remember talking about it with you a while back. Let me know if you have any experience with it, because I'll be attempting to use it as soon as I get my engine back together. Sorry for the threads jack. I'd go with a used Insight, personally, and use a small turbo to get a little more ball out of it when I wanted.
     
  9. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX

    I don't think it was from you. I've been researching DIY ECU tuning solutions for years... I may have talked to you about it, but I don't remember. You definitely didn't introduce me to it. :)
     
  10. MikeBergy

    MikeBergy Blah blah blah....

    Messages:
    3,646
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Location:
    Central Coast, CALI


    Well, you have Hondata, so :p . That also might be a decent way to get your mpg higher. Well tuned engines burn gas more efficiently, so I can see mpg going up with a good tune with Hondata's lower cost sytem. Probably 350 after tuning, and you'll get better hp/trq and high mpg.
     
  11. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    :werd:

    A more complete burn will give you more power to a certain extent, but maximum power in the real world does not equal the best fuel economy. I like my Hondata. :D
     
  12. CRXSI91

    CRXSI91 Senior Member

    Messages:
    386
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    get an hf motor...it took my friend almost 2 weeks to fill his tank back up..and thats from actually hammering it from time to time.
     
  13. MikeBergy

    MikeBergy Blah blah blah....

    Messages:
    3,646
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Location:
    Central Coast, CALI


    giving an hf motor full throttle = teh unimpressive. Get a lawnmower engine.
     
  14. Citizen_Insane

    Citizen_Insane Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,698
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    I can tell you, its even less impressive with a blown clutch! :lol: *floors it, vrooooooooommmmmmmm* then realizes that only the tach is moving....the speed stays the same :ph34r:

    Oh yeah, to contribute in a postitive way to this thread, yes, get an HF motor and put that in there. I got over 50mpg on the highway with mine.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page