1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

IAT issue

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by mdlax1, Sep 8, 2004.

  1. mdlax1

    mdlax1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    936
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    On the Proverbial picked fence of Insanity....
    Ok i know the drill so let me give you as much detail as possible. First 98 Type R in a 99 ex coupe (model is irrel) I'm using a 00 SI harness and a 00 SI ECU (with other fuel managment irrel).

    The stock ITR IAT is on the manifold, the SI's IAT is on the intake. So i know it's already reading a higher temp than the ECU views as stock. I gotta a CEL for po113 "Intake air tempature circuit high input"

    Im assuming this electrical related and not the input of air temp. if it is the actual air temp. moving it to the intake should fix this.

    But if it's electrical because of my setup, anyone got any ideas?
     
  2. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    Test and/or replace the sensor? I know that mine went bad- had to get a new one.
     
  3. mdlax1

    mdlax1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    936
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    On the Proverbial picked fence of Insanity....
    oops sorry ment to add, pretty sure the sensor is good. Only reason i say pretty sure is that i switched it with another one, and still had a CEL BUT i think i was throwing another one but i cant confirm it. Keeping in mind the replace possibility what other options/ideas do you think?

    edit: also what other IAT sensor related codes can be thrown?
     
  4. mdlax1

    mdlax1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    936
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    On the Proverbial picked fence of Insanity....
    bump for a consfused bitch
     
  5. pills_PMD

    pills_PMD Super Moderator

    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    New Albany, OH
    i would guess on it being somewhere in the wiring. I personally have never seen an IAT go bad.
     
  6. radnulb

    radnulb Senior Member

    Messages:
    674
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Location:
    Sinsinnaty, Ohio
    I've seen plenty of IATs go bad. I'd start there.
     
  7. hondadude

    hondadude Junior Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004

    anyone know how to bypass it?
     
  8. cycloneb18c3

    cycloneb18c3 Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Location:
    New Jersey
    did you install it into the intake piping(where the 99-00 civic's are located stock) or did you extend the wiring and connect it at the intake manifold?

    You should install it into the intake piping(cooler temp)
    I belive your car had it with the stock engine in the intake pipe.(and not on the intake manifold.)

    the one in the intake pipe should be a black sensor,held in by a gromet, while the one in the intake manfold is white and held in by 2 screws.
     
  9. boosted96

    boosted96 New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    so is there not a bypass you can do for the (code po113) cause my car cel came on last night with that code but i tried runnin the iat in my pipe and the boost just kept blowin it back out of the pipe (cause mine is in the intake pipe) so i got new sealed pipe and it was doin just fine till last night so just curious if there is a trick/bypass for this ......Thank you
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page