1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

IAT...wire pulled out...

Discussion in 'General Tech and Maintenance' started by Magik, Dec 12, 2003.

  1. Magik

    Magik Senior Member

    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    Location:
    Moncton, New Brunswick CANADA
    My Intake air temperature sensor is being flashed by my ECU...so I go on the hunt to find the thing...found it! (very excited, might actually fix something)...oh-oh. One of the wires has 'torn' out of the little white sensor casing...I can see the little stubby bit still stuck in the sensor...one of the two wires (green one) from the harness is still ok...but there is not enough wire to perform a "fix" to the red wire...the guy at the parts counter at Honda said I'm screwed and said I'm going to have to buy another 'complete' engine wire harness!!! That's like $700!!!

    How screwed am I???

    Jason
     
  2. bcreez

    bcreez Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2003
    Location:
    N.C.
    most of the DA's that work at the parts dpt from a dealership don't have a clue. go to a junkyard and get one. what motor is it? i think i've got 1 or 2 lying around
     
  3. Magik

    Magik Senior Member

    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    Location:
    Moncton, New Brunswick CANADA

    D15B2 is the motor.

    Yah...they are normally pretty good to me...but it depends on "who" is working the counter too...

    Jason
     
  4. CrazyAzn

    CrazyAzn Senior Member

    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2003
    shit, just bust out a sodering gun and some xtra length of wire and some shrink wrap. im pretty sure u dont need a whole new harness, just strip the ends of the wires, and soder the new length of wire inbetween and use shrink wrap to cover the connection.
     
  5. Magik

    Magik Senior Member

    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    Location:
    Moncton, New Brunswick CANADA
    I'll try and snap a pic of it...but there is not enough wire to do that...on the connector end...

    Jason
     
  6. rudeludenotmeanthough

    rudeludenotmeanthough Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    just repair the wire.. samne thing happend to me.

    umplug the clip from the sensor, and then pull the wires out of it. they are held in by a rubber grommet. The plug comes apart.. add some wire to it using solder and shrink wrap, then reinstall the plug, and connect the newly extended wires to the old ones... you DO NOT need to buy a whole new engine harness... thats just BS they want to make money.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page