1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

IDLE PROBLEMS... HELP!!!

Discussion in 'General Tech and Maintenance' started by eg6sir, Nov 1, 2005.

  1. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    i put my intake mani. back on today and hooked everything back up...except i had 1 vacuum hose left over that didnt run to anything... well i started my car and my idle was jumping around at 3500-4000... they were fast idles... i checked my ecu code and it think it gave me a 10... i'm not sure...would the IAT cause the idle to do this....?? confused..everything is hooked up right..i think.. some help please [​IMG]
     
  2. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    someone...anyone?? [​IMG]
     
  3. kaoskustoms

    kaoskustoms Senior Member

    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Location:
    casper wyoming man
    bleed cooling system
     
  4. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    would that cause the idle flip out??? where do i bleed the cooling system from.??. never done it before..
     
  5. swanny

    swanny Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,779
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2003
    Location:
    buck teeth and government checks, PA
  6. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    your intake manifold has two nipples on the right hand side for vacuum. If one of them is open it will cause an irradic idle and an IAT code.
     
  7. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    there is a nipple that runs to the FPR and one on the back... both are hooked up...
     
  8. kaoskustoms

    kaoskustoms Senior Member

    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Location:
    casper wyoming man
  9. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    well...i adjusted my tach.. and its jumping idle from 2k to 2.5k...and when i pulled the plug on the iacv the idle jumped a little 1800- 2000 rpm...i am thinking i didnt torque the mani down right/ enough...would an intake mani leak cause the idle to jump around from 2- 2.5k rpm???
     
  10. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
  11. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    well fuck then.... thats the second time i did that.. i need to take this shit to a shop then to get it torqued down right...god damnit.....
     
  12. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    do you not have a torque wrench, and are you tightening from the center outward?
     
  13. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    no i dont have a torque wrench.. and yes i am tightening from the center out... i guess i'll just have to take it to a shop for an easy ass install...i just cant torque them dont right or somthin..
     
  14. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    yeah without a torque wrench you are kinda SOL on that job. and if you didnt buy a new gasket when you changed it, that could cause your problem. Intake gaskets are a one time use item.
     
  15. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    yea i bought a new one.... for the second time.. i guess i will have to invest in a torque wrench, or find one to borrow...
     
  16. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    definitely a good investment...just remember that you get what you pay for.
     
  17. kaoskustoms

    kaoskustoms Senior Member

    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Location:
    casper wyoming man
    you dont need a torque wrench for the intake manifold get some carb spray and start the car then spray it around the base of the intake, if the idle changes you have a leak if not you have other issues.
     
  18. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    really...i wouldnt mess with it...those bolts are like the valve cover bolts.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page