1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ignition wont turn off help!

Discussion in 'Civic and CRX - EF' started by BoostedHatch, Mar 17, 2010.

  1. BoostedHatch

    BoostedHatch get tha fuck out!

    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Location:
    Bossier City, Louisiana
    ok i just finished my b18b1 swap in my 89 civic hatch before we started the engine harness my ignition turned off and on fine but now my ignition wont turn my car off i have to disconnect the battery to stop the motor from running help please.
     
  2. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    Ignition switch faulty?
     
  3. BoostedHatch

    BoostedHatch get tha fuck out!

    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Location:
    Bossier City, Louisiana
    idk but its kinda weird that the day before we did the harness the ignition work fine but when we finished it it didnt work right i dont know everything but where is the ignition switch located at?
     
  4. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    On the steering column under the key cylinder.
     
  5. BoostedHatch

    BoostedHatch get tha fuck out!

    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Location:
    Bossier City, Louisiana
    how do i replace it can i go buy a new one or just get one from the junk yard.
     
  6. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    Either way. That might not be the problem though. Remove it and test it.
     
  7. ricksautomotive

    ricksautomotive honda dealer tech

    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Location:
    lancaster, ca
    you may have to cut the bolts off yours. i think these years had break-away bolts. when they were installed by the manufacturer the heads would break off when the bolt was tightened to their torque spec
     
  8. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    That's true. All mine were bolted in though, not riveted.
     
  9. ricksautomotive

    ricksautomotive honda dealer tech

    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Location:
    lancaster, ca
    maybe someone already replaced the unit and it was a cheep unit which is why it might be bad now. are you going to use a dealer part?
     
  10. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    I've used and AutoZone replacement without problems before.
     
  11. D16SiHatch

    D16SiHatch New Member

    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    44
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page