Im a NOOB

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

97CIVSI

Please help! I have a 97 civic with a D16Z6 its supposed to be vtec but I don't feel the vtec at all... I was told it was set to all time... how the hell do you change it to normal. And on such a small engine would I even feel a significant difference?

there is not a significant difference or noticeable engagement with the D16Z6
the D16Z6 is also the wrong engine for that car, it should be using a D16Y8 at least
VTEC cross over point is set by either the ECU, or a piggyback controller

Could you please get a little deeper into that? I have been building mustangs my whole life this is my very first Honda so I have absolutley no idea what your talking about... explain in idiot terms please...

the z6 was in obd1 cars, single cam vtecs dont have a huge boost in power when vtec in engages. also engagement is usually controlled by the ecu. so there is a possibility that it isnt wired up

How would I know if its wired up..? Where to look? What to look for? Is this engine worth building up? I don't have alot of money but I would like to use it wisely...

Also would changing my evi be a good idea someone at work offered to give me a p28 I think... would tha help my cause any...

ECU sorry for the typo. Damn predictive text on my phone screwed me up...

the p28 is the ecu for that motor. but the car is obd2 while the motor and ecu are obd1. it depends on the wiring changes they made to put the motor in.

Sooo what's that mean? Im sorry for all the retard questions but I have no damn idea about these engines if it were an american motor it would be a totally different story but this is a whole.different animal...

check what ecu is in the car now. that motor needs a p28 but the wiring might need modified for it to work