1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I'm an idiot and I need help with my husbands car

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by HSHoochie, Aug 2, 2009.

  1. HSHoochie

    HSHoochie Junior Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Location:
    Bristol, CT
    My husband has a 1990 Civic si and is in need of replacing the "Electronic Load Detention module"??? I called Napa and they have never heard of this. I found a somewhat part # (A-8460) but I cannot find it anywhere. Does anyone know where I can get a replacement part? Or even where it is located in the car? He originally thought he needed an alternator, but alas, he does not.

    Yes, I realize my name is Hoochie. LOL
     
  2. FREEBYRD1962

    FREEBYRD1962 New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Whats the problem wit da car
     
  3. HSHoochie

    HSHoochie Junior Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Location:
    Bristol, CT
    It starts but if you disconnect the battery it dies. It's only running at about 12.5 volts. It's supposed to be 14. The battery light is on, if you start the car and disconnect the alternator the battery light goes off and the car still runs.
     
  4. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    it should be in the fuse box under the hood
     
  5. HSHoochie

    HSHoochie Junior Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Location:
    Bristol, CT
    and of course B is sleeping and I can't get a hold of E solsi
     
  6. nootrac22

    nootrac22 Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    4,331
    Likes Received:
    131
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Location:
    exeter pa
    figures, but E is prolly out killing zombie strippers anyway.
     
  7. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    sounds like a bad alternator to me.
     
  8. HSHoochie

    HSHoochie Junior Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Location:
    Bristol, CT
    That's what I said so he went to get one and it says this on the parts sheet,
    "Reman; 60 Amps; INSTALLATION ALLERT! This application uses an "Electronic Load Detector" in conjunction with the Electronic "something (can't read the sheet is cut off)" regulate alternator output. Follow prescribed test procedure for a "no charge" condition.; See Tech Tip #626
    Then I did some research online and saw this,
    "Honda/Acura models built after 1988 may experience rough idle, stalling or low/no altnernator output. This has been traced to failure of the ELD (electronic load detention) module. This module is designed to improve fuel economy by almost shutting the alternator off during light throttle and idle. If this module malfunctions, the ECM losses a sensor and the above listed symptoms appear. A code 20 may also be set." Then it has part No. A-8640
    WTF???
     
  9. HSHoochie

    HSHoochie Junior Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Location:
    Bristol, CT
    probably
     
  10. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    well you can always take the alternator to autozone ect ect, and they can put it on a bench tester to see if its good or not
     
  11. nootrac22

    nootrac22 Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    4,331
    Likes Received:
    131
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Location:
    exeter pa
    there is a zombie stripper thread here. It's legit the DOT warning sign even notified motorists
     
  12. HSHoochie

    HSHoochie Junior Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Location:
    Bristol, CT
    I could try that. He doesn't get out of work until 4.
    It sucks because the car is awesome. Totally stock. One owner. It only has 37K original miles!
     
  13. HSHoochie

    HSHoochie Junior Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Location:
    Bristol, CT
    seriously???
     
  14. phyregod

    phyregod !!YTINASNI

    Messages:
    9,449
    Likes Received:
    225
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2005
    Location:
    Central Texas

    With charging problems. What a piece of junk. You should sell it to me!!!:ph34r:

    Ok, ok...

     
  15. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    I had the CEL in my 88 Civic; replaced the fusebox...it went away. :)
     
  16. INJEN78

    INJEN78 HS LEGEND

    Messages:
    9,187
    Likes Received:
    121
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    OHIO
    i think i might have the fusebox if it helps..
     
  17. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,456
    Likes Received:
    2,117
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
  18. rfrumusa01

    rfrumusa01 Bean Cakes

    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    Don't waste your time testing it. 9 times out of 10 it is a blown fuse under the dash... the "alt" fuse under the dash is likely blown. Test all of them to be sure. If thats not the problem, the fuse box under the hood will need to be replaced. However, i don't recall a EF having an ELD, I would double check that. Does this vehicle have an OBD-I swap or ECU conversion?
     
  19. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    CRX does have a ELD. I know this because I had the same CEL and fixed it by swapping fusebox(I had to swap all of my fuses too in case you were wondering; bought the fusebox "barebone") That picture Phyregod posted up is from a CRX.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page