1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I'm getting an Xbox 360

Discussion in 'Computers, Games, Electronics etc' started by khrisb, Nov 27, 2007.

  1. khrisb

    khrisb ******

    Messages:
    1,807
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2003
    My mom bought me one for x-mas this year. All she could find was the xbox 360 arcade unit ($279). I've been looking at the difference between all of them and it seems this one just doesn't have a hard drive. I saw that you can't play old xbox titles without it. Is that the only real difference? It comes with a 256mb memory card, so I can save games and stuff. Does anyone have an xbox without the hdd? Will mine play like shit? I wanna get Halo 3 and Oblivion, I hope I can without the hdd. They're only like a hundred bux. I might even spring for the 120g a few months from now.

    Anyway...all input is welcome.
     
  2. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,582
    Likes Received:
    697
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    you best go out and get the HDD ASAP since you will fill that 256mb card in DAYS.

    you CANNOT play online without the HDD.
     
  3. Filer0128

    Filer0128 New Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Location:
    Western PA
    ok well... first off you can play original xbox games because all that is required for them is some sort of memory... you will fill the card up in less than a week (unless you only play one game), and memory cards completely cut you off from the ability to utilize the marketplace you cant download demos, new content (like map packs for halo 3 or song packs for GH3)...

    my best advice would be this... just as TurboMirage stated... as soon as you get it go to walmart or wherever and PICK UP A HDD dont blow your money on the 120gb complete waste of money unless you plan on loading all your media onto your system... i would personally just get on eBay and buy a standard HDD off someone with a feedback score of 98%+ like this one NEW OFFICIAL MIRCOSOFT XBOX 360 HARD DRIVE 20GB 20 GB - (eBay item 250192311877 end time Dec-03-07 18:45:00 PST)
     
  4. VTEC_CBR

    VTEC_CBR Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,075
    Likes Received:
    28
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Location:
    Virginia Beach
    Keep the receipt, and swap it for the premium. It'll be cheaper than buying a hdd, and you'll get wireless controls(not sure if you can use wireless with the core/arcade). The 20gb will be plenty unless you plan on using it as a DVR when the IPTV or whatever it's called gets set up.
     
  5. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,582
    Likes Received:
    697
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    ^^ yes you can use the wireless. its the SAME system except you get a wired controller and no HDD.

    if you use the extender, dont bother with the 120gb. i download alot of demos and arcade games, but im hovering around 4gb free after many many games and etc. i dont care for videos and episodes since i can torrent them for free.
     
  6. Filer0128

    Filer0128 New Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Location:
    Western PA

    yeah you can use the wireless controllers on ANY 360 console. I have a core because one of my friends broke his 360 and was like going through withdrawl so i traded him my premium console for a 32" Westinghouse LCD HDTV and heres the best part... he let me keep my HDD, cables, controllers and games all he wanted was the bare system. So i went to walmart on the way back to my house and picked up a core system went home plugged it into my new tv and snapped the hdd on and i was good to go... got a $1000+ tv for the price of a new 360 core system.:D
     
  7. VTEC_CBR

    VTEC_CBR Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,075
    Likes Received:
    28
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Location:
    Virginia Beach
    :) Well the point stands, for $70 more, he'll get the HDD and a wireless control.I generally keep about 8gb free on mine. I'll download demos to try something out before I buy it, but always delete them after a few days. And then just some updates, I hope they make some more maps for COD4 soon.
     
  8. khrisb

    khrisb ******

    Messages:
    1,807
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2003
    well i haven't gotten a christmas present on christmas since I was 6. She gave it to me last week with halo 3. I can play online. It came with a 256mb card, which I fill up every day...but then I just delete some junk and keep going. I was going to just plug in a usb hdd, but the joke was on me. Its a crazy input for it. Crafty microsoft...
    So it seems to play ok. And I got 2 free months of a gold membership.

    Umm...wtb xbox 360 hdd so I can download Castlevania: SOTN
     
  9. Filer0128

    Filer0128 New Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Location:
    Western PA

    yeah same here... and we DEFF NEED MORE COD4 maps!!

    and khrisb... that really sucks that you have to delete stuff everyday... you should get a hdd... they are great especially for downloading demos to try before you buy i makes all the difference to not have to go out and buy demo disks or get them with gamestop magazines like i had to with the ps1...:p
     
  10. khrisb

    khrisb ******

    Messages:
    1,807
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2003
    I only delete the demos I download. Its straight so far, but I really only have one game. I think my wife got me assassin's creed for x-mas. That'll probably push my storage to it's limit...
     
  11. ripperbone

    ripperbone angry bear

    Messages:
    3,173
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    he got the new arcade version which does come with one wireless controller

    the hdd is a must have
     
  12. Sabz5150

    Sabz5150 FALCON PUNCH!!!

    Messages:
    3,335
    Likes Received:
    41
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Buy a PSOne. :ph34r:
     
  13. khrisb

    khrisb ******

    Messages:
    1,807
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2003
    i still have the original cd for SOTN, but my ps2 has that gear alignment problem...it takes like 5 mins for anything to load, and sometimes the castlevania disk reads as an audio cd. 30 minutes later. my neighbor has a ps1 for sale, but I can't bring myself to buy it just to play castlevania. I think its screwy too. My neighbor is shady like that. Oh yeah and the music skips and doesn't play sometimes.
     
  14. jeffie7

    jeffie7 Wrong Whole! VIP

    Messages:
    12,934
    Likes Received:
    740
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Maryland
    I hate how they list half the games as HD updates, like SOTN, wow.. you can now stretch it to fit the screen or have a cheesy border around the game... yay....
    HD? ha.. no.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page