IM new to the honda world EG D16z6 need help!!!

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

brettfessler

Soo as the title says im new to the honda world. heres where i am, i found this car (1992 EG SI) picked it up with 70k on it no rust no scratches for 4000. i feel like i got a steal... but down to buisness where do i start, it has a Ractive 4-2 header, autozone intake, engine ground kit, cheap ass short throw, oem cat back, i think i want to make it dohc. i have some money but not alot. i want it to be NA and lay down about 240 to the wheels i know this doesnt happen over night but i want to get this thing going( ran a 15.2 at import wars tonight) pathetic but not bad for stock. i have a junk yard by me that has plenty of hondas and acuras so if i can get it from the junk yard let me know what to look for and also have acess to a machine shop so JUST PLZ SOME ONE HELP ME FIGURE OUT HOW TO GET THIS THING DOHC!!!

with only 70K miles on the motor, a decent Turbo setup will land you an easy 220hp, which IMO is plenty for a car of that weight and size.

True as well, but he said he wanted to make it a dual cam..

I think im going to go with a home made turbo kit for now, on the z6 and then build up a b16c that my buddy is letting me have, build it thru the winter, im going to get a 14g turbo, turbo header, ebay intercooler and some other shit, just going to push 8 lbs of boost, i think that will get it going, do i need to do any special tuning or anything when i turbo it? and should i worry about rings or pistons at 8lbs?

Definitely get some kind of tuning.. but first things first do a compression and leakdown test on the engine that's in there before you turbo it. If that checks out ok then you're probably safe to run some boost as long as you have it tuned. There are a lot of tuning options out there for OBD1, so go read up on that for awhile so you understand how important it is..